BOARD WRAPUP

GOOSE CREEK CONSOLIDATED INDEPENDENT SCHOOL DISTRICT

REGULAR MEETING OF THE BOARD OF TRUSTEES - February 1, 2021

OPENING EXERCISES

The pledge to the American flag and Texas flag was led by **Keegan McGee** from Highlands Elementary School. Students from Highlands Elementary sang "DARE song" by John Riggio and Theresa Jennings and "Thank You" by Theresa Jennings performed by **Calea Agana**, **Izaya Costello-Castro**, **Jaivyn Davila**, **Emma Gipson**, **Makenzie Groff**, **Arianna Gutierrez**, **Tavion King**, **Lane Landree**, **Adrian Limas**, **Keegan McGee**, **Elijah Medrano**, **Landon Pogue**, **Jezel Resendez**, **Kaysen Smith**, **Riley Sprang**, **Yareth Tello-Riojas**, **Alexiya Thomas**, **Zoyebeth Valencia**. Students are under the direction of homeroom teacher, Mrs. Walsh and Principal, Blanca Capetillo. The prayer was led by board secretary, **Howard Sampson**.

PUBLIC HEARINGS

- One-Time Payment for Early Notice Resignation or Retirement to Any Full-Time Teacher, Nurse,
 Librarian, and Speech Therapist
- Texas Academic Performance Report (TAPR)

RECOGNITIONS AND ACKNOWLEDGMENTS

- Donation from Vice President, Business Group Director JP Grom with Lockwood, Andrews & Newnam, Inc., (LAN)
- o Board Appreciation Certificates from County Commissioner Precinct 2 Adrian Garcia
- Texas Educational Theatre Association TheatreFest 2020 State Winners from Goose Creek Memorial High School under the direction of Alicia Green, Head Theatre Director and Jeremy Ashlin, Assistant Theatre Director: **Delilah Acres**, Properties Design Winner; **Dillan Hawkins**, Sound Design Winner; **Isabel Badall**, Short Form Playfest Winner: "The Night Shift"
- Texas Thespian State Convention National Qualifiers from Goose Creek Memorial High School under the direction of Alicia Green, Head Theatre Director and Jeremy Ashlin, Assistant Theatre Director: Emma Thompkins, Stage Management National Qualifier; ShaNya Hughes, Marketing Design National Qualifier; Dillan Hawkins, Solo Monologue National Qualifier.
- Texas Dance Educators Association All-State Dancers: Riley Kimble from Sterling High School under the direction of Lori Alexander, Head Director and Yoanna Isas, Assistant Director; Raquel Arreguin from Lee High School under the direction of Alice Henrichsen, Head Director and Jamie Minyard, Assistant Director; Eliana Mack from Goose Creek Memorial High School under the direction of Larisa and Marisa Coy, Co-Directors.





BOARD WRAPUP

GOOSE CREEK CONSOLIDATED INDEPENDENT SCHOOL DISTRICT

APPROVAL OF MINUTES

January 11, 2021, Regular Board Meeting as presented

DISCUSSION ITEMS

- Facilities and Construction Project Management Tool
- Junior and High School Cheer Program Guidelines
- Rezoning Recommendation
- 2021-2022 Budget Workshop #1
- Conflict of Interest Provisions of Matters Relating to Chapter 313 Economic Development Agreements with Covestro LLC

ACTION ITEMS

- Request from Covestro LLC to Cancel Tax Limitation Agreement with District in Texas Comptroller File No.
 1232 Pursuant to Chapter 313 of the Property Tax Code
- New Application for Value Limitation Agreement from Covestro Pursuant to Chapter 313 of the Property Tax Code
- Retaining Consultants to Assist the District in Processing the Chapter 313 Application from Covestro LLC
- Donation from Highlands Elementary PTO
- One-Time Payment for Early Notice Resignation or Retirement to Any Full Time Teacher, Nurse, Librarian and Speech Pathologist
- Rezoning Recommendation for Junior Schools
- Amended and Restated Memorandum of Understanding (MOU) with Lee College Regarding the Support of College Readiness Programs for Spring 2021
- Joint Election Agreement with Lee College
- Adoption of Order and Notice Calling for a Board of Trustees Election for Single-Member Districts 1, 2, 4, and
- Increase the Total Project Budget of the Robert E. Lee High School Armstrong Auditorium Project
- Select Construction Manager At Risk (CMAR) as the Delivery Method for the Robert E. Lee High School and Gentry Junior School Fine Arts Project
- Construction Manager At Risk (CMAR) Evaluation Rankings and Selection of, Delegate Authority to the Superintendent or Designee to Negotiate and to Approve the Contract and Subsequent Guaranteed Maximum Prices with, Bartlett Cocke General Contractors or Subsequently Ranked Contractors for the Early Learning Academy Project
- Second Option to Extend CSP for Fencing Materials, Installation, and Related Items
- Tax Refunds





BOARD WRAPUP

GOOSE CREEK CONSOLIDATED INDEPENDENT SCHOOL DISTRICT

PERSONNEL ACTION ITEMS

- Approved elections of **DeShana Hamilton**, DeZavala Elementary School; **Jenna Lard**, Baňuelos Elementary School; **Jackie Rodriguez**, Gentry Junior School; **Jennifer Smith**, Horace Mann Junior School.
- Approved resignations of Jennifer Alvarez, math teacher at Gentry Junior School; Victoria Burton, science teacher at Lee High School; Susan Chiboroski, director of fine arts; Ellie Denbigh, speech pathologist; Kami Hale, associate director of ELA and foreign languages; Waneta Hebert; ELA teacher at Gentry Junior School; Carla Johnson, kindergarten teacher at James Bowie Elementary; Kierstin Santana, CTE science teacher at Lee High School; Craig Thibodeaux, science teacher at POINT; Lakeisha Williams, history teacher at Horace Mann Junior School; Ja'Cory Wright, math teacher at Highlands Junior School.
- Approved the retirement of **Kathryn Nelson**, 5th grade teacher at Crockett Elementary.
- Approved the administrative elections of Rayfield J. Lavan, director of fine arts; Yvette M. Hanvey, educational diagnostician; Erin Clement, assistant principal at Horace Mann Junior School; Stella Greer, high school counselor at Goose Creek Memorial.
- Approved the settlement agreement as discussed in closed session.

FUTURE BOARD MEETINGS

The next Regular Board meeting is scheduled for February 15, 2021 at the Goose Creek CISD Central Administration Building. All Regular Board meetings are set for **6:30 p.m**.



