BOARD WRAPUP

GOOSE CREEK CONSOLIDATED INDEPENDENT SCHOOL DISTRICT

REGULAR MEETING OF THE BOARD OF TRUSTEES - February 19, 2021

OPENING EXERCISES

The pledge to the American flag and Texas flag was led by **Kaylea Yancey** and **Robert Hinojosa** from De Zavala Elementary School. Students from De Zavala Elementary, Jaslynn Cummings, Ylianna Enciso, Lizeth Gonzalez, Andrea Medellin, Paula Ramirez sang "The President's Song." Students are under the director of teachers, Angela Rowland and Rosalyn Johnson and Principal, Bart Cobb.

RECOGNITIONS AND ACKNOWLEDGEMENTS

- CTE FFA Recognition
 - Patricia Alvarez, FFA Sponsor at Lee High School, worked with the City of Baytown and Mayor
 Brandon Capetillo for a Proclamation of FFA Week in Baytown.
- Communications Team Recognition
 - o Recognitions at the 2019-2020 TSPRA conference
 - Gold Star, Carrie Pryor Newman, Gemina Trujillo, and Susan Passmore. Best of Category, Susan Passmore

APPROVAL OF MINUTES

February 1, 2021, Regular Board Meeting as presenting

DISCUSSION ITEMS

- HCDE Safety Audit Report
- Alternative Medical Plan

ACTION ITEMS

- Addendum to Current Agreement between Goose Creek CISD and Specialized Assessment and Consulting
- Interlocal Agreement between Harris County and Goose Creek CISD for Internet Services
- Harris County Department of Education Interlocal Agreement for Safety and Security Services and Audit Proposal for Goose Creek CISD.
- Tax refunds





BOARD WRAPUP

GOOSE CREEK CONSOLIDATED INDEPENDENT SCHOOL DISTRICT

PERSONNEL ACTION ITEMS

- Approved elections of **Taylor Ballinger**, teacher at Cedar Bayou Junior School; **Shawn Davis**, teacher at Gentry Junior School; **Carmen Pequeno Smith**, teacher at Ross S. Sterling High School.
- Approved resignations of **Julie Poteet**, kindergarten teacher at George Washington Carver Elementary School.
- Approved the retirement of Kristin Byars, first grade teachers of Victoria Walker Elementary School; Sonja Curry, ELA teacher at Goose Creek Memorial High School; Brenda Hinton, fourth grade teacher at Lorenzo De Zavala Elementary School; Kelly Lorenz, campus at-risk intervention teacher at Dr. Johnny T. Clark Elementary School; Rebecca Robins, Director of Curriculum and Instruction; Mary Scardino, ELA teacher at Highlands Junior School; Anna Spears, history teacher at Horace Mann Junior School.

FUTURE BOARD MEETINGS

The next Regular Board meeting is scheduled for March 1, 2021 at the Goose Creek CISD Central Administration Building. All Regular Board meetings are set for <u>6:30 p.m</u>.



