GOOSE CREEK CONSOLIDATED INDEPENDENT SCHOOL DISTRICT

REGULAR MEETING OF THE BOARD OF TRUSTEES - April 26, 2021

OPENING EXERCISES

The pledges to the American and Texas flag were led by students from Victoria Walker Elementary: **Melanie Linares, Diego Toledo, Gabriella Martinez, Harmony Franco, Mekhi Gary, Amoolya Babu, Osmanny Perez,**and **Daniel Gonzalez.** A video was presented of Walker Wildcats performing to a song called "Younique."
Students are under the direction of music teacher, Meagan Taylor and Principal, Mrs. Monica Juarez. The prayer was led by Board Vice President, Ben Pape.

RECOGNITIONS AND ACKNOWLEDGEMENTS

- State Visual Art Scholastic Event (VASE) State Qualifiers, from GCM, Kerliyah Andres,
 Lorelei Barboza, Kira Bryant, and Vianey Trejo. Qualifiers from Lee, Kyla Bank, and
 Sterling, Maritza Valdovinos.
- Family, Career, and Community Leaders of America (FCCLA) recognitions, from SCTHS,
 Kyra Kirby and Nathan Nicholas. Recognitions from Lee, Egypt Clark, Mia Yado, and
 Chevelle Blue.
- Technology Student Association (TSA) recognitions, from GCM, Ruel Cabading, Amy Chen,
 Alyssa Barker, Daniel Bernal, Teddy Cullpepper II, Teliyah Houston, Elise Leed, Nathan
 Loose, Armani Martinez, Anson Mercury, Colton Mohler, Christian Nieto, Viridiana Nunez,
 Veronica Ortega, Dylan Pitre, Sofia Ramirez, David Ramirez, Oscar Ramirez, Orlando
 Rangel Morales, Ayanna Rhodes, Jason Richards, Kristine Richards, Yaddah Rodriguez,
 Ariana Sanchez, Anthony Sarabia, Brooke Schrull, Landon Trahan, George Valencia Jr.,
 and Aileen Villalta.
- Goose Creek Memorial High School Football team, District 9-5A Bi-District Finalist.
- Goose Creek Memorial High School Men's Basketball Team, District 22-5A Bi-District
 Champion, Area Champion, Regional Quarter Final Champion, and Regional Semi-Final
 Qualifier.





GOOSE CREEK CONSOLIDATED INDEPENDENT SCHOOL DISTRICT

- Goose Creek Memorial High School Men's Soccer Team, District 22-5A Bi-District Finalist.
- Goose Creek Memorial High School Volleyball Team, District 22-5A Bi-District Finalist.
- Robert E. Lee Football Team, District 9-5A Bi-District Finalist.
- Ross S. Sterling Tennis Team, District 22-5A Bi-District Champion, Area Champion, Regional
 Quarter Final Champion, Regional Semi-Final Champion, and Regional Final Qualifier.
- Ross S. Sterling Women's Basketball Team, District 22-5A Bi-District Finalist.
- GCCISD Police Department Oath of Office, Chief Davis Smith.

PUBLIC HEARING

Public hearing for Accelerated Instruction Program

CITIZENS' PARTICIPATION

- Two community members addressed the board regarding bullying in schools.
- One community member addressed the board regarding optional masking in schools.
- One community member addressed the board regarding racial injustices in schools.
- One community member addressed the board regarding the name of Elementary #17.

APPROVAL OF MINUTES

Approved the minutes from the Regular Board Meeting on April 5, 2021.

DISCUSSION ITEMS

- Dual credit partnerships with Lee College
- Early Learning Centers
- Legislative Update

ACTION ITEMS

- Donation from Exxon Mobil
- Memorandum of Agreement with Lee College and Goose Creek CISD to provide services for College Recruitment/Outreach and Advising/Counseling
- Memorandum of Understanding with University of Houston-Clear Lake and Goose Creek CISD for implementation of a master's degree Cohort Program in Educational Management with Principal as Instructional Leader Certification





GOOSE CREEK CONSOLIDATED INDEPENDENT SCHOOL DISTRICT

- Agreement Addendum with Stepping Stones Group (Cobb Pediatric)
- Instructional Allotment and TEKS Certification for 2021-2022
- Award of RFP for Depository Services
- First option to extend RFP for generator maintenance, repair, and inspection service
- Tax refunds
- May 12, 2021: special meeting to canvass election results

PERSONNEL ACTION ITEMS

- Approved the elections of Susan Broussard, Hopper Primary; Rhonda Burkhart, Green Junior; Azalie Cienega, Gentry Junior; Amy Glasscock, Austin Elementary; Rebekah Grant, Harlem Elementary; Eric Harris, GCM; Angelia Idlebird, Crockett Elementary; Kendalynn King, Austin Elementary; Joseph LaFour, Lee; Ashley Lott, Sterling; Shari May, SCTHS; Justin Morgan, Baytown Junior; Chauncelyn Morris, Gentry; Luis Ortiz, Gentry; Valeri Phelps, Victoria Walker; Alyssa Skarda, Lee; Molly Spears, Lee; Jessica Spickard, Baytown Junior; Elizabeth Sydnor, Sterling.
- Approved resignations of Andrew Callis, assistant principal at GCM; Leah Colelli, fourth grade teacher at Ashbel Smith Elementary; Romulo Crespo, principal at Lee; Chase Cryer, physical education teacher at Gentry; Rachael Dawson, licensed specialist in school psychology; Brian Dixon, engineering design and problem solving/AVID teacher at SCTHS; Brooke Douget, special education coordinator; Owida Dunn, assistant principal at Lee, Gisselle Flores, ESL teacher at Bowie; Allyscia Graves, science teacher at Lee; Karli Henderson, first grade teacher at Travis; Kayci Hopper, math teacher at Baytown Junior; Susan Hillin, first grade teacher at Austin; Yasmin Lenzy, ELA teacher at Baytown Junior; Stacy McCray, student wellness interventionist; Courtney Mixon, special education coordinator; Andrea Mooney, math teacher at Cedar Bayou Junior; Maria Paredes, dual language first grade at Harlem; Virginia Richard, algebra teacher at Sterling; Kristin Roden, science teacher at Lee; Kelsey Scheuerman, music teacher at Travis; Gaye Scribner, ELA teacher at IMPACT; Staci Scroggin, speech language pathologist; Wanetta Steed, special education teacher at Bowie; Henisha Stovall, fourth grade teacher at Lamar; Leslie Taylor, campus instructional specialist at Bowie, Bailey Wilhite, fifth grade teacher at Clark.
- Approved the retirement of Jayme Cessna, first grade teacher at Hopper Primary; Tom Ortman, construction project manager.
- Approved the administrative elections of Dr. Ellen Akers, Director of Elementary Curriculum and Instruction; Livia Callahan, Director of Secondary Curriculum and Instruction; Caitlin Huebner, Secondary Language Arts Specialist; Kathryn Holland, principal at Goose Creek Memorial High School; Michelle Duhon, principal at Gentry Junior High School; Jeralan J. Kannady II, principal at Cedar Bayou Junior High School; Kody Griffin, principal at Travis Elementary School; Erica Smith, principal at Carver Elementary School; Luis Munoz, principal at San Jacinto Elementary School; Josanne Colon, licensed specialist in school psychology; Amy Henderson, Austin Elementary; Sarah Daniels, speech language pathologist; Carol Broussard, speech language pathologist assistant; Coral De Alba-Ramirez, educational diagnostician.
- Administrator Contract Extensions
- Non-extension Contracts





GOOSE CREEK CONSOLIDATED INDEPENDENT SCHOOL DISTRICT

Propose termination of continuing contracts of classroom teachers and related issues, including a
determination as to whether good cause existed for employee's abandonment of employment.

FUTURE BOARD MEETINGS

The next Regular Board meeting is scheduled for May 17, 2021 at the Goose Creek CISD Central Administration Building. All Regular Board meetings are set for <u>6:30 p.m</u>.



