BOARD WRAPUP

REGULAR MEETING OF THE BOARD OF TRUSTEES - March 21, 2022

OPENING EXERCISES

The pledges to the American flag and Texas flag were led by Harlem Elementary students **Kyrie Scott** and **Gabrielle Bedia. Alyssa DuBose, Kevin Molina, Allison Pena, Houston Castillo, Yailyn Crespo, Kaleb Scott, Eliza Hargrave, Kendall Stover, Kyrie Scott, and Gabrielle Bedia** performed the songs entitled, "De Colores" and "Madre Tierra." Students are under the direction of Dual Language Teachers Ms. Marroquin, Ms. Rivera, Mrs. Martinez, and Mrs. Torres. The principal is Mrs. Betty Baca. The prayer was led by board member, **Helen Berrott-Tims.**

PUBLIC HEARING

• Texas Academic Performance Report (TAPR)

RECOGNITIONS AND ACKNOWLEDGEMENTS

- All-State Musicians
- Pathways to Leadership Recognition
- It's Time Texas

APPROVAL OF MINUTES

- Approved the minutes of the February 21, 2022, Regular Board Meeting.
- Approved the minutes of the March 1, 2022, Special Board Meeting.

DISCUSSION ITEMS

- Early Learning Academies Curriculum, Construction, and Rezone Update
- Fine Arts
- 2022-2023 Budget Update

ACTION ITEMS

- Rezoning recommendation for Pre-Kindergarten Schools
- Rezoning recommendation for pocket zone
- Updating FFA (Local); Student Welfare Wellness and Health Services
- Proclamation 2022 Health/PE Adoption Instructional Materials Recommendations per GCCISD Textbook Committee



BOARD WRAPUP

Tax Refunds

PERSONNEL ACTION ITEMS

- Approved elections of Olga Auguste, teacher at De Zavala; Raquelle Cuellar, teacher at Highlands Junior; Naomi Lang, teacher at E.F. Green; Chelsea McAllister, teacher at Clark; Kimberly Truncale, teacher at Ashbel Smith.
- Approved resignations of **Yvette Acosta**; kindergarten bilingual teacher at Lamar; **Emily Alexander**, second grade teacher at Clark; Ismael Anzaldua, SPED teacher; Victoria Arnold, history teacher at E.F. Green; Cheryl Beene, SPED teacher at Harlem; Aleishe Blanchard, kindergarten teacher at Crockett; Jehan Bluford, SPED teacher at E.F. Green; Jacob Brown, CTE teacher at GCM; Dalia Bugarin, fifth grade bilingual teacher at Banuelos; Adriana Capilla, third grade teacher at Travis; Jessica Copty, ASL teacher at Lee; Adriana Crespo, teacher at Highlands Junior; Valerie Currie, nutrition and family development teacher at Peter E. Hyland; Daisy Duarte, fourth grade bilingual teacher at Lamar; Aaron Field, assistant principal at Gentry; Brandon Gonzalez, second grade teacher at Carver; Kristen Hardaway, campus academic specialist at E.F. Green; Takendra Harris-Simmons, ELA teacher at Baytown Junior; Billy Hilton, SPED teacher at Cedar Bayou; Carrie Hutton, science teacher at Gentry; Angelia Idlebird, third grade teacher at Crockett, Julie Jones, nurse at Baytown Junior; Danielle Keiser-Parton, ELA teacher at E.F. Green; Shelby Klein, third grade teacher at Travis; Stephanie Knight, kindergarten teacher at Clark; Manuel Longoria, math teacher at Sterling; Kurt Marek, CTE teacher at Lee; Taylor Matthews, speech pathologist assistant; Justin May, ELA teacher at IMPACT; Maria Miller, nurse at Gentry; Chelsea Morris, third grade teacher at Victoria Walker; Hannah Murphy, ELA teacher at GCM; Autumn Palmer, campus instructional specialist at Crockett; Connie Redding, math teacher at Cedar Bayou; Amanda Reyes, fourth grade bilingual teacher at Harlem; Jenny Romero, first grade teacher at Banuelos; Blayne Saldana, SPED teacher at Lee; Sandra Santos, second grade dual language teacher at Carver; Lora Shackelford, orchestra director at Baytown Junior; Chelsea Schuck, ELA teacher at Highlands; Thelma Schultz, third grade teacher at Crockett; Eduardo Spragg, history teacher and coach at Sterling; Andrea Taylor, assistive technology specialist.
- Approved the retirement of Lisa Arthur, pre-k teacher at Hopper; Angela Carr, campus instructional specialist at Clark; Robert Chambliss, social studies teacher at Lee; Leslie Cushman, French teacher at Lee; Gina Ham, science teacher at Sterling; Dale Heckman, credit recovery teacher at Peter E. Hyland; Stephanie Korenek, first grade teacher at Alamo; Jody Kulig, pre-k teacher at Travis; Raymond Patrick, geometry teacher at GCM; Trenda Rodgers, assistant athletic trainer at Sterling; Shelley Stark, SPED teacher at Sterling; Sharon Vojacek, art/PRS teacher at Peter E. Hyland.
- Approved the administrative elections for Daniel Ragsdale, coordinator of campus athletics and head football coach at Goose Creek Memorial; Brooke Dockery, associate director for compensation, Tracy Haywood, academic dean at the Pumphrey Elementary Early Learning Academy; James Husband, data fellow; Alice Hoy, college and career counselor at Goose Creek Memorial; Betsy Henry, counselor at Goose Creek Memorial; Danielle Roaches, counselor at the San Jacinto Early Learning Academy; Rebecca Butler, counselor at the Pumphrey Elementary Early Learning Academy; Amber Gardner, literacy coach specialist for math and reading.
- Extended by one year the term and probationary contracts of administrative personnel.
- Purchase of real estate on San Jacinto Blvd.



BOARD WRAPUP

FUTURE BOARD MEETINGS

The next Regular Board meeting is scheduled for April 18, 2022, at the Goose Creek CISD Central Administration Building. All Regular Board meetings are set for <u>6:00 p.m</u>. At the April 18, 2022, board meeting there will be a budget workshop from 5:00-6:00 p.m.



