CONSOLIDATED INDEPENDENT SCHOOL DISTRI

Reception Honors Dr. Richard Thomson and Special Education Teachers

Dr. Richard Thomson, retired Baytown ophthalmologist, and past recipients of the James Becker Thomson Special Education Teacher of the Year Award were honored at a reception at the Goose Creek CISD Administration Building. Dr. Tom Kelchner, director of special education, also recognized them at a meeting of the Goose Creek CISD Board of Trustees immediately following the reception.

Dr. Thompson established the award in 1976 in honor of his brother Jamie, a young man who benefited from the patience and kindness of special education teachers in California and Texas. This year marks the 40th year Dr. Thomson has sponsored the award, which includes a monetary prize, in Goose Creek CISD in support of special education. Nominations are open to all special education teachers in the district.

"When we came to Baytown in 1964, I was surprised that the department of special education was as large as it was," said Dr. Thomson. "I wanted to get the publicity out about what the department did for students."

Thomson refers to his younger brother as "my buddy," and although Jamie died in 1984, the award lives on in his memory.

"I have established this award to be given annually to a teacher in the field of special education who has made an outstanding contribution in the Goose Creek Consolidated Independent School District," wrote Dr. Thomson when he founded the award more than 39 years ago.

Nineteen special education teachers, many now retired, attended the reception and thanked Dr. Thomson for the privilege of having received the James Becker Thomson Special Education Teacher of the Year Award.



Dr. Richard Thomson (center front), retired Baytown ophthalmologist, is surrounded by past recipients of the James Becker Thomson Award, established in 1976 in honor of his brother. Pictured are (front, I to r) Minnie Honora-Hill, Thomson, Lynette Busch, (2nd row) Mary Margaret Hooks, Sharon Harper, (3rd row) Ginger Scarborough, Melissa Marr, Ann Reilly, (4th row) Wanda Mooney, Jan Borah-Railsback, Christine Langhorne, (5th row) Susan McCormick, Jennifer Nerf, Faith Smith-Chew, Donna Ashley, Jan Novosad, (6th row) Nova Stippel, Jennifer Malpass and Earnest Brooks. Not pictured is Sheila Southall, who also attended. To view more photos, click here.

Share This!





© Goose Creek Consolidated Independent School District

ndent School Distric 4544 Interstate 10 East

Mailing Address Independent School District P.O. Box 30 Baytown, Texas 77522

Statement of Non-Discrimination Contact the Webmaster Required Internet Postings Site Map Google Translate