

Ross S. Sterling High School students honor the teachers who had a positive impact on their lives at the Goose Creek Education Foundation Students Choice Awards. Pictured are (front, I to r) John Padgett, Cynthia Garcia, Taylar Eppinger, Tristan Truitt, Jennifer Britt, Cindy Li, Danielle Redhead, Brady Sutton, (back, I to r) Angela Buehring from RSS, Lesli Taylor-Brock from Lamar Elementary, Angela Putnam from Gentry Junior School, Joseph Bernard, Richard Clem, Rebecca Carroll and Caro Norris from RSS and Lanell Brown from Austin Elementary.

## Teachers honored at sixth annual Students Choice Awards

Nearly everyone remembers a teacher who had an impact on his or her life. Fifteen Goose Creek CISD teachers realized the difference they had made in their students' lives when they were honored at the sixth annual Goose Creek CISD Education Foundation Students Choice Awards. Nearly 550 letters were written by Goose Creek CISD seniors about their teachers, and a committee selected 15 to be recognized at the event, held in the Woodforest Tower Club at the Royal Purple Raceway.

Sponsors for the Students Choice Awards were Andrews Kurth, LLP, Aramark, Awards & Engraving, Beehive Florist, Frost Bank, Outback Steakhouse and Royal Purple Raceway Park. Members of the Goose Creek Memorial High School Orchestra, under the direction of Reuben Chance, provided music prior to the program.

Jim Wadzinski, vice president of development for the Education Foundation, welcomed guests and expressed his respect and support for all teachers. Jessica Woods, Education Foundation Board member and newly elected assistant secretary of the GCCISD Board of Trustees, led the pledge, and Steve Daniele, Foundation member, gave the invocation. After dinner, Kathy Clausen, president elect of the Education Foundation, described the mission and goals of the organization and thanked the generous donors for their support.

"The Foundation's goal is to enrich teaching, inspire learning and maximize opportunities for all students in the Goose Creek school system," said Clausen. "Recently, we awarded approximately \$130,000 in innovative teaching grants to 74 deserving teachers. Over the past six years, the Foundation has awarded more than \$579,000 in grants to teachers throughout the district, and with your support and dedication, we will continue to recognize our teachers for their creativity in writing grants designed to help our students succeed."

Randal O'Brien, GCCISD superintendent, recognized special guests, thanked the Education Foundation members for their dedication to the district and introduced the guest speaker.

Chad Burke, president and CEO of the Economic Alliance, Houston Port Region, and immediate past chair of the Deer Park ISD Education Foundation, spoke about workforce development in the area. A special video, created by Carrie Pryor-Newman of the GCCISD Communications Department, featured memories from the teachers and students, who also thanked the Education Foundation for this opportunity.

Joe Ditta, Education Foundation Board member at large, called the students and teachers to the front, while Clausen; Foundation Board members Ronnie Hotchkiss, Linda Krisher and Barbara Wilson; Sandra Bell, vice president of marketing and events, and



Students from Goose Creek Memorial High School pose with their GCM teachers, who were honored at the Goose Creek CISD Education Foundation Students Choice Awards. Pictured are (front, I to r) Pooja Bhula, Alondra Garcia, Raegan Styron, Tiffany Triola, (back, I to r) Angie Johnson, Elizabeth Harris, Jennifer Inabnit and Holly Lewallen.

View photo gallery here.

Goose Creek Memorial High School students and their teachers, all from GCM, were Pooja Bhula and teacher Angie Johnson; Alondra Garcia and teacher Elizabeth Harris; Raegan Styron and teacher Jennifer Inabnit and Tiffany Triola and teacher Holly Lewallen.

Robert E. Lee High School students and teachers selected were Daniel Zamora and teacher Cynthia Campos from REL; Stacie Nevels and teacher Robert Thibodeaux from REL and Anthony Vasquez and teacher Jerry Shafer from Baytown Junior School.

Students from Ross S. Sterling High School and their teachers were Jennifer Britt and teacher Richard Clem from RSS; Taylar Eppinger and teacher Angela Putnam from Gentry Junior School; Cynthia Garcia and teacher Lesli Taylor-Brock from Lamar Elementary; Cindi Li and teacher Rebecca Carroll from RSS; John Padgett and teacher Angela Buehring from RSS; Danielle Redhead and teacher Caro Norris from RSS; Brady Sutton and teacher Lanell Brown from Austin Elementary and Tristan Truitt and teacher Joseph Bernard from RSS.

The Goose Creek CISD Education Foundation accepts taxdeductible gifts of cash, checks, property, insurance and will bequests as well as in-kind products and services. Donations may be sent to Goose Creek CISD Education Foundation, P. O. Box 8081, Baytown, TX 77522. For more information, please go to Education Foundation on the Goose Creek CISD website at www.gccisd.net. O'Brien presented them with the video and a gift card along with giving the teachers a plaque commemorating the occasion. The honored educators also received the floral centerpieces, donated by Beehive Florist.

## Share This! + 0



## © Goose Creek Consolidated Independent School District Physical Address: Goose Creek Consolidated Independent School District 4544 Interstate 10 East Baytown, Texas 77521 281.420.4800

Mailing Address: Goose Creek Consolidated Independent School District P.O. Box 30 Baytown, Texas 77522 281.420.4800

Statement of Non-Discrimination Contact the Webmaster Required Internet Postings <u>Site Map</u> Google Translate