

Goose Creek CISD Campus Teachers of the year were honored at the recent "Hats off to Retirees and Teachers of the Year" Gala. Pictured are (back, I to r) Patricia Roberts, San Jacinto Elementary; Jamie Cox, Travis Elementary; Mark Garrett, Stuart Career Center; Janette Williams-Grogan, POINT Alternative Center; Edwardo Caicedo, Peter E. Hyland Center; Stephanie Cottle, Ross S. Sterling High School; Lawrence Richard, Robert E. Lee High School; Nancy Jacobs, Goose Creek Memorial High School; Lucia Conley, Horace Mann Junior School, Clint Halstead, Gentry Junior School; Stacey Stork, Cedar Bayou Junior School and Deborah Silverberg, Baytown Junior School. Also pictured are (front row, I to r) Patricia Rivera Santoyo, Lamar Elementary; Jessica Amezcua-Gallegos, Hopper Primary; Judy LeBouf, Highlands Elementary; Beth Banks, Harlem Elementary; Stacey McCray, De Zavala Elementary; Tracy Thierry Haywood, Crockett Elementary; Courtney Morris, Carver Elementary; JoLayne Gilmore, Bowie Elementary; Aaron Berklund, Austin Elementary; Ashlee Bellard Madison, Alamo Elementary; Wendy Goodman, Victoria Walker Elementary, Patricia Bennett, Highlands Junior School and Douglas Stewart Torres-Edwards, IMPACT Early College High School.

Goose Creek CISD Campus and District Teachers of the Year, James Becker Thomson Award Winner Announced

Teachers from each Goose Creek CISD campus were honored and the District Elementary and Secondary Teachers of the Year were announced at the recent "Hats off to Retirees and Teachers of the Year Gala" at Ross S. Sterling High School. The James Becker Thomson Award for Excellence in Special Education was presented, and eleven retirees were recognized for their service to Goose Creek CISD.

Elementary Campus Teachers of the Year recognized were Ashlee Bellard Madison, Alamo Elementary School; Diana Garza, Ashbel Smith Elementary School; Aaron Berklund, Stephen F. Austin Elementary School; JoLayne Gilmore, James Bowie Elementary School; Courtney Morris, George W. Carver Elementary School; Tracy Thierry Haywood, David Crockett Elementary School; Stacey McCray, Lorenzo De Zavala Elementary School; Beth Banks, Harlem Elementary School; Judy LeBouf, Highlands Elementary School; Jessica Amezcua-Gallegos, Bonnie P. Hopper Primary School; Patricia Rivera Santoyo, Mirabeau B. Lamar Elementary School; Patricia Roberts, San Jacinto Elementary School; Jamie Cox, William B. Travis Elementary School and Wendy Goodman, Victoria Walker Elementary School.

Secondary Campus Teachers of the Year honored were Deborah Silverberg, Baytown Junior School; Stacey Stork, Cedar Bayou Junior School; D. Clint Halstead, George H. Gentry Junior School; Patricia Bennett, Highlands Junior School; Lucia Conley, Horace Mann Junior School; Nancy Jacobs, Goose Creek Memorial High School; Douglas Stewart Torres-Edwards, IMPACT Early College High School; Lawrence Richard, Robert E. Lee High School; Stephanie Cottle, Ross S. Sterling High School; Eduardo Caicedo, Peter E. Hyland Center; Janette Williams-Grogan, POINT Alternative Center and Jonathan Mark Garrett, Stuart Career Center.

Beth Banks from Harlem Elementary School was recognized as the District Elementary Teacher of the Year. Banks teaches 5th grade math and science.

"When I look back on my teaching career, I remember the students that I have had, not the lessons I have taught," said Banks. "You get what you put into it. I truly believe that is why I am still teaching after 30 years."



Jay Arceneaux (left) and Yvonne Silva (right) from Community Resource Credit Union, present Goose Creek CISD's District Elementary Teacher of the Year Beth Banks and District Secondary Teacher of the Year Lawrence Richard with iPads during the recent Retiree and Teacher of the Year celebration. <u>View photo gallery</u>.

"My personal teaching style is reflected in my infectious, enthusiastic approach to life," said Richard. "All my students know my life's struggles—a misguided inner city youth with severe learning disabilities and other stories I tell to help humanize myself and create a more equal emotional playing field."

Banks and Richard will advance to the Region 4 Education Service Center Teacher of the Year competition.

Christina Langhorne from David Crockett Elementary School was honored with the James Becker Thomson Award for Excellence in Special Education. This award was established by Dr.Richard Thomson in honor of his brother James.

Langhorne teaches the Preschool Program for Children with Disabilities (PPCD) and has spent her 11-year teaching career in Goose Creek CISD. Dr. Tom Kelchner presented her with her award.

Eleven retirees participated in the event, representing 283 years of service to Goose Creek CISD. They were Liz Ailles from Robert E.

Lawrence Richard, Agricultural Science teacher at Robert E. Lee

High School, was announced as the District Secondary Teacher of the Year.

Lee High School, Ken Farris from the Transportation Department, Jonathan Mark Garrett from Stuart Career Center, Jan Giroir from Travis Elementary School, Ed Haberman from Robert E. Lee High School, Vicki Haberman from Goose Creek Memorial High School, Nola Harris from Highlands Junior School, Ampero Martinez from Bowie Elementary School, Alec McGuire from Cedar Bayou Junior School, Sharon Shipp from Stephen F. Austin Elementary School and Dee Wilson from Stephen F. Austin Elementary School.

Share This! + 0



© Goose Creek Consolidated Independent School District Physical Address: Goose Creek Consolidated Independent School District 4544 Interstate 10 East Baytown, Texas 77521 281.420.4800

Mailing Address: Goose Creek Consolidated Independent School District P.O. Box 30 Baytown, Texas 77522 281.420.4800

Statement of Non-Discrimination Contact the Webmaster Required Internet Postings Site Map Google Translate