## CONSOLIDATED INDEPENDENT SCHOOL DISTRI

## Goose Creek CISD Dedicates Dr. Johnny T. Clark, Jr. Elementary School

Goose Creek CISD dedicated Dr. Johnny T. Clark, Jr. Elementary School with a ceremony in the cafetorium/gymnasium of the new school, located at 6033 N. Hwy. 146 in Baytown. The Clark Elementary faculty and staff members, wearing their green and blue Clark Elementary shirts, were out in full force to celebrate the school they occupied shortly before the first day of this school year, August 25th.

More than 250 other community members attended the ceremony. including past members of the Board of Trustees Carl Burg, who was instrumental in paving the way for the three new elementary schools to be built, along with Wayne Hanson, Richard Heyen and Wanda Ellis Mitchell, who were on the Board during Dr. Clark's years as superintendent. Tommye Glynn Clark, Dr. Clark's wife; Jimmy Clark, their son; Joy and Brent Brunson, the Clark's daughter and son-in-law; Meagan Brunson, the Brunson's daughter, and her daughter, Grace Ferrin; W.B. Clark, brother of Dr. Clark, and wife Charlene; sisters of Dr. Clark Ethel Mitchell and Dolly Gullo, along with Gullo's husband Tony, represented the Clark family at the dedication.

Randal O'Brien, acting superintendent for Goose Creek CISD, welcomed guests and presented a plaque bearing the names of members of the Facilities Planning Committee and the Citizens Bond Advisory Committee to Susan Griffin, principal of Clark Elementary. Josh Joines, pastor of Faith Family Church gave the invocation, and Clark students William Caldwell, Madeleine Broussard, Brandon Broussard and Chandler Beck led the pledges.

Jimmy Smith, Board president, thanked everyone involved in the construction and opening of the elementary school, enumerating several innovative ideas that Dr. Clark established, such as Stuart Career Center and the first in-school suspension class in Texas (SAC).

"It is quite an honor to have a school named for you, and I'm sure the Clark family is proud that Dr. Clark's name will live on at this elementary school and throughout our district," said Smith.

Griffin told about meeting Dr. Clark 31 years ago when she was a new teacher at Bowie Elementary. He came into her classroom. asked her name, and told her he was happy to have her as part of the Goose Creek family. The next time he saw her, he remembered her name

"What a gift he had! I am so honored to be the first principal of a school named after such a warm, caring individual who truly was concerned about the students and staff of this community," said Griffin. "Tonight we dedicate this school, Dr. Johnny T. Clark, Jr. Elementary School, to the memory of Goose Creek CISD's former superintendent Dr. Johnny T. Clark, Jr. and to this community."



Members of the Clark family proudly represent their family at the recent dedication ceremony for Dr. Johnny T. Clark, Jr. Elementary School. View gallery here.

The 4th and 5th grade choir students, under the direction of Cathy Theall, sang "Deep in the Heart of Texas" in honor of Dr. Clark and "Celebration" in honor of the new school. Barry Nettles, who served as a teacher, coach, principal, deputy superintendent and assistant superintendent in Goose Creek CISD, retiring in 1992, related stories about his years of working with Dr. Clark.

Judi Craig, former secretary to the Board of Trustees, and Joy Woodall, Dr. Clark's secretary, presented a framed letter that was written by Dr. Clark to the district's employees.

Brent Brunson, Dr. Clark's son-in-law, thanked the Board of Trustees and the community as well as everyone involved with opening the school, telling several stories about his relationship with Dr. Clark.

Another highlight of the ceremony was the Laying of the Cornerstone by the Baytown Masonic Lodge #1357. A time capsule, containing the letter written by Dr. Clark and items representative of the year 2014, will be set behind the cornerstone to be opened in 50 years.

The event concluded with tours of the building, led by Clark Elementary students Molly Scheidt, Lakin Horne, Caden Norris, Kylie Palma, Fernando Lopez and Kaiden McGee, and a reception in the rotunda area

Share This!



