a

CAMPUSES DEPARTMENTS BOARD OF TRUSTEES SUPERINTENDENT EMPLOYMENT PUBLICATIONS EDUCATION FOUNDATION

PHOTOS





Goose Creek CISD recognized Teachers of the Year and the James Becker Thomson Award for Excellence in Special Education recipient at the recent "Hats Off" celebration at Sterling High School. Pictured are (back, I to r) Rex Miller, Stuart Career Center; Gordon Blue, Lee High School; Celeste Garcia, De Zavala Elementary; Tammy Marshall, Victoria Walker Elementary; Corina Garcia, San Jacinto Elementary; Maria Diaz, Hopper Primary, James Perry McCoy, POINT; Dana Roberts, Highlands Élementary; Amy Albus, Travis Elementary; Tracy Gaston-Gray, Highlands Jr., Richard Heyen, Peter E. Hyland Center; Blanca Valerio, Lamar Elementary; Becky Cowan, Crockett Elementary; Diana Joaquin, Alamo Elementary; Ann Reilly, James Becker Thomson Award recipient from Sterling High School; (middle, I to r) Anissa Cantin, Cedar Bayou Jr.; Nina Marshall, Baytown Jr.; Patricia Speck, IMPACT ECHS; Robin Wright, Bowie Elementary; Maria Angelica Sanchez, Ashbel Smith Elementary; Mary Nevil, Austin Elementary; (front, I to r) Jody Cone, Harlem Elementary; Kathy Stangle, Horace Mann Jr.; Kate McGrew-Almazan, District Elementary Teacher of the Year from Carver Elementary; Beth Woods, District Secondary Teacher of the Year from Sterling High School; Merla Kramer, Goose Creek Memorial High School and Delanah Nickson, Gentry Jr. | Photo Gallery

GCCISD Teachers of the Year

Goose Creek CISD announced the District Teachers of the Year and honored the Campus Teachers of the Year at the recent "Hats Off" celebration at Sterling High School. Katherine "Kate" McGrew – Almazan from George W. Carver Elementary School was named District Elementary Teacher of the Year, and Beth Woods of Ross S. Sterling High School was selected as District Secondary Teacher of the Year.

McGrew-Almazan teaches K – 5th grade music at Carver. She believes that she has the ability to see a child's strengths and nurture them. Her enthusiasm for her job is evident.

"When people ask me what I do, I tell them, 'I get to play music with kids all day long AND they pay me! Isn't that awesome?'" said McGrew-Almazan.

Woods teaches Algebra 1 at Sterling, but she has taught Algebra 1 and 2, Algebra 2 Pre-AP, geometry, Peer Assistance and Leadership, Teen Leadership 1 and 2, and served as assistant coach for swimming and water polo. She believes that she teaches at a high school today due to the positive experiences she had as a student at Robert E. Lee High School.

"I feel that good teachers encourage their students to try their very best, to think big, and to do more than is expected," Woods said.

The two District Teachers of the Year will advance to the Region 4 Teacher of the Year competition in June.

Other Elementary Teachers of the Year are Diana Joaquin, Alamo Elementary; Maria Orther Elementary (Fachers of the Year are Darial sought), Maria Chementary, Maria Angelica Sanchez, Ashbel Smith Elementary; Mary Nevil, Stephen F. Austin Elementary; Robin Wright, James Bowie Elementary; Becky Cowan, David Crockett Elementary; Celeste L. Garcia, Lorenzo De Zavala Elementary, Jody Cone, Harles Elementary; Dana Roberts, Highlands Elementary, Maria Diaz, Bonnie P. Hopper Primary; Blanca Valerio, Mirabeau B. Lamar Elementary; Corina Garcia, San Jacinto Elementary; Amy Albus, William B. Travis Elementary and Tammy Marshall, Victoria Walker Elementary.

Secondary Teachers of the Year are Nina Marshall, Baytown Junior; Anissa Cantin, Cedar Bayou Junior; Delanah Nickson, George H. Gentry Junior; Tracy Gaston-Gray, Highlands Junior; Katherine Kean-Stangle, Horace Mann Junior; Merla Kramer, Goosye Creek Memorial High School; Gordon Blue, Robert E. Lee High School; Rex Miller, John M. Stuart Career Center; Patricia Speck, IMPACT Early College High School; Richard Heyen, Peter E. Hyland Center and James Perry McCoy, POINT Alternative

"I congratulate our District and Campus Teachers of the Year. We are proud of your accomplishments and proud that you have chosen to make your mark here in Goose Creek," said Dr. Salvador Cavazos, Superintendent of Schools.

Share This!





© Goose Creek Consolidated Independent School District

Goose Creek Consolidated Independent School District 4544 Interstate 10 East Baytown, Texas 77521

Mailing Address: Goose Creek Consolidated Independent School District Baytown, Texas 77522 281.420.4800

Statement of Non-Discrimination Contact the Webmaster Required Internet Postings Site Map Google Translate