

Lee's one-act play wins zone, district titles

Robert E. Lee High School one-act play performers are zone and district champions for their riveting production of "Medea," a Greek tragedy originally written by Euripides in 531 BC.

The Lee cast was lead by veteran actress and Thespian president, Hillary Hopson in the lead role of Medea. Also starring were Julia Melville, Hermann Hopson, Alan Sandoval, Luis Espinoza, and Kevin Newberry. The Chorus was headed by Kimberly Flores, Jade Gonzales and Viviana Fajardo along with freshmen Dana Ruiz and Gladys Prado. The technical aspects of the play were guided by the Stage Manager Perla Lopez, Sound - Magaly Bejar, and Lights - Jessica Bergeron.

Lee competed at the zone contest on March 23 at Barbers Hill High School. Lee beat out Galena Park, C.E. King, Goose Creek Memorial and North Forest in the first round of competition. Lee students winning awards were Hillary Hopson, BEST ACTRESS (1st place medal), Kimberly Flores, Jade Gonzales, Viviana Fajardo, Gladys Prado, Dana Ruiz, and Kevin Newberry were awarded ALL-STAR CAST (2nd place medals). Alan Sandoval received HONORABLE MENTION (3rd place medal) and Magaly Bejar got ALL STAR CREW (2nd place medal).

Lee theatre's second competition was the district contest on March 31st at Goose Creek Memorial where Lee won, the District championship. Hillary Hopson won BEST ACTRESS (1st place medal). Also medaling again were Kimberly Flores, Jade Gonzales, Viviana Fajardo, Gladys Prado, and Dana Ruiz, getting ALL STAR CAST (2nd place medals). Alan Sandoval was also awarded ALL STAR CAST (2nd place medal). Julia Melville earned HONORABLE MENTION (3rd place medal) while Perla Lopez won ALL STAR CREW (2nd place medal).

There were 118 students competing in the district 19-4A District one-act play contest this year from Lee, Goose Creek Memorial, Barbers Hill, C. E. King, Dayton, Crosby, Galena Park and North Forest. Of those 118 students, there were 61 young ladies in the contest and 36 of them were eligible for best actress.



To view more photos click here.

Lee is proud to announce that senior Thespian President, Hillary Hopson was again crowned this year's best actress. Hillary is the reigning best actress for District 19-4A as this is her fourth best actress award including two from 2011 and two this contest season.

Lee's third contest was the area contest at Atascocita High School on April 14 against Huntsville, Nederland, Port Neches Grove, Barbers Hill and Summer Creek. Lee was not so fortunate in this round and did not advance, but still took several individual awards. Hillary Hopson won ALL STAR CAST (2nd place medal), while Kimberly Flores, Jade Gonzales, Viviana Fajardo, Gladys Prado, and Dana Ruiz received HONORABLE MENTION (3rd place medal). Jessica Bergeron was awarded ALL STAR CREW (2nd place medal).

The play was under the direction of longtime Lee theatre teacher and director, Rosemary Calico-Hopson, and her assistant, Veronica Johnson.

Share This!



© Goose Creek Consolidated Independent School District Physical Address: Goose Creek Consolidated Goose Creek Consolidated Goose Creek Consolidated

Goose Creek Consolidated Independent School District 4544 Interstate 10 East Baytown, Texas 77521 281.420.4800 Mailing Address: Goose Creek Consolidated Independent School District P.O. Box 30 Baytown, Texas 77522 281.420.4800 <u>Statement of Non-Discrimination</u> <u>Contact the Webmaster</u> <u>Required Internet Postings</u> <u>Site Map</u> <u>Google Translate</u>