

## District to honor 2012 retirees, teachers of the year on May 24

Goose Creek CISD will honor its 2012 retirees and campus and district Teachers of the Year on Thursday, May 24 at Ross S. Sterling High School, 300 W. Baker Road.

The event will begin with a 5 p.m. program, followed by a reception.

The event will include the announcement of this year's District Elementary and Secondary Teachers of the Year and James Becker Thomson Award winner.

Campus Teachers of the Year at the elementary level include Shianna Nichols, Alamo; Rebecca Lynn Griffin, Ashbel Smith; Roseanna Henrichsen, Austin; Jayme Cessna, B.P. Hopper; Kathrine Ann Hull, Bowie; Jo Ann Fenley, Crockett; Luis Humberto Munoz, Carver; Joyce Kell, DeZavala; Linda LeDay, Harlem; Cindy Creel, Highlands; Brooke Lantrip, Lamar; Daondria Jack Wilson, San Jacinto; Diana Ronquillo, Travis; and Brent Guidry, Walker.

Campus Teachers of the Year from the secondary schools include Matthew Barnett, Baytown Junior; Charisse Sartor, Cedar Bayou Junior; Carrie McRay, Gentry Junior; Eva Bradford, Highlands Junior; Gerald Matthews, Horace Mann Junior; Debbie Himsel, Goose Greek Memorial; Janie Rivera, Hyland Center; Brian T. Walenta, Lee; Gala Payne Robinson, School/Community Guidance Center; Amy Maddie, Sterling; Mark Garrett, Stuart Career Center and Amanda Gagneux, Impact Early College High School.

In addition, Jennifer Malpass of Sterling High School has been named the winner of the James Becker Thomson Award for Special Education Excellence.

Before recognizing the district's top teachers, Goose Creek CISD will honor more than 30 retiring employees.



 © Goose Creek Consolidated Independent School District

 Physical Address:
 Mailing Address:

 Goose Creek Consolidated
 Goose Creek Consolidated

 Independent School District
 Independent School District

 4544 Interstate 10 East
 P.O. Box 30

 Baytown, Texas 77521
 Baytown, Texas 77522

 21 420.4800
 281 420.4800

This year's retiring employees represent more than 700 years of service in Goose Creek CISD.

The retiring employees include Refugia Maria Rodriguez, Carver cafeteria worker; Elizabeth Gilbert-George, Stuart Career Center custodian; Mona Bonds, Lamar teacher; Melanie Blanks, special education teacher; Rebecca Ann Bradley Duvall, Harlem teacher; Rebecca Sanders,

Travis teacher; Karen Swart, Goose Creek Memorial teacher; Donna Bernard, Highlands Junior teacher; Donna Mohlman, Highlands Elementary librarian; Brenda Hastings-Gongora, Hopper Primary principal; Al Richard, Goose Creek Memorial principal; Michelle Root-McDaniel, lead licensed specialist in school psychology; Millicent Lewis, Lamar custodian; Jane Larson, deaf education counselor; Lindy Orr, Highlands Elementary teacher; Mirtha Cartaya, San Jacinto teacher; Rebecca Lynn Griffin, Ashbel Smith teacher; Linda Myrick, Ashbel Smith teacher; Sofia Rodriguez, Sterling custodian; Delbert Pape, SCGC teacher; Stuart Eisen, Sterling High and Cedar Bayou teacher; Rubin White Jr., maintenance department employee; Gregory A. Thomas, Stuart Career Center teacher; Roseanna Henrichsen, Austin teacher; Kathryn Dunlop, Highlands Junior teacher;

Mary Elms, Ashbel Smith speech therapist; Eddie Dotson Guice, Operations Department engineer; Stan Edmondson, Lamar teacher; Terry Gaines, special education teacher; Martha George, school bus driver; Cindy Creel, Highlands Elementary teacher; and Dr. Toby York, Superintendent of Schools.

After the program, attendees will be invited to a reception where they can have refreshments, visit with retirees and teachers of the year, and watch a district-produced slide show highlighting the education careers of the 2012 retirees.

<u>Statement of Non-Discrimination</u> <u>Contact the Webmaster</u> <u>Required Internet Postings</u> <u>Site Map</u> <u>Google Translate</u>