a

CAMPUSES DEPARTMENTS BOARD OF TRUSTEES SUPERINTENDENT EMPLOYMENT PUBLICATIONS EDUCATION FOUNDATION

PHOTOS



CONSOLIDATED INDEPENDENT SCHOOL DISTRICT

District to honor 2011 retirees, teachers of the year on May 26

Goose Creek CISD will honor its 2011 retirees and campus and district Teachers of the Year on Thursday, May 26 at Ross S. Sterling High School, 300 W. Baker Road. The event will begin with a 5 p.m. program, followed by a reception.

The event will include the announcement of this year's District Elementary and Secondary Teachers of the Year, and James Becker Thomson Award winner.

Campus Teachers of the Year at the elementary level include Abby Davis, Alamo; Vicki Blalock, Ashbel Smith, Evah Leigh Primeaux, Austin, Roberto Ponce, B.P. Hopper, Terrie Andrews, Bowie; Rebeca Ramirez, Crockett, Rick Schultz, Carver; Kimberle Ann Erwin, DeZavala: Laura Lumpkin, Harlem: Mike Perez, Highlands: Tammy Matejka, Lamar; Mirtha Cartaya, San Jacinto; Carole Casey, Travis; and Tamie Land, Walker.

Campus Teachers of the Year from the secondary schools include Sheryl Ann Ferguson, Baytown Junior; Deanne Cummings, Cedar Bayou Junior; Lakittah Eagleton, Gentry Junior; Carolyn Johnson, Highlands Junior; Elsa Kleiman, Horace Mann Junior; Brenda Boyd, Goose Greek Memorial; Cynthia Benita Minor, Hyland Center; Sarah Flusche, Lee; Pedro Ruiz, School/Community Guidance Center; Christie Speights, Sterling; and Greg Thomas, Stuart Career Center.

In addition, Faith Smith-Chew of Lee High School has been named the winner of the James Becker Thomson Award for Special Education Excellence.

Before recognizing the district's top teachers. Goose Creek CISD will honor 20.

This year's retiring employees represent more than 430 years of service in Goose Creek CISD.

The 20 retiring employees include Terrie Andrews, Bowie teacher: Rehecca Armstrong, Lamar teacher; Becky Boul, Goose Creek Memorial teacher; Nicolas Guzman, Ashbel Smith custodian; Suzanne Keith, Walker principal; Elsa Kleiman, Guzman, Ashoel Smith custodian; Suzanne Keith, Walker principar; Elsa Kleiman, Horace Mann teacher; Theresa Leonce, custodian; Cheryl Omtvedt, Alamo teacher; Rozell Reese, Bowie custodian; Connie Rupp, Highlands Junior teacher; Patty Russell, Walker teacher; Edwin Scates, Supervisor of Custodians; John Staples, Cedar Bayou teacher; Lawrence Stratmann, Assistant Security Chief; Cheryl Sturrock, Goose Creek Memorial teacher: Leslie Anderson, Crockett teacher: Jan Novosad, Dyslexia specialist/teacher; Deborah Wood, Ashbel Smith teacher; Carolyn Johnson, Highlands Junior teacher; and Patti Lannou, secretary to the superintendent.

After the program, attendees will be invited to a reception where they can have refreshments, visit with retirees and teachers of the year, and watch a districtproduced slide show highlighting the education careers of the 2011 retirees.

Share This!





© Goose Creek Consolidated Independent School District

Goose Creek Consolidated Independent School District 4544 Interstate 10 East Baytown, Texas 77521 281.420.4800

Goose Creek Consolidated Independent School District Baytown, Texas 77522 281,420,4800

Statement of Non-Discrimination Contact the Webmaster Required Internet Postings Site Map Google Translate