CAMPUSES | DEPARTMENTS | BOARD OF TRUSTEES | SUPERINTENDENT | EMPLOYMENT | PUBLICATIONS | EDUCATION FOUNDATION | PHOTOS



CONSOLIDATED INDEPENDENT SCHOOL DISTRICT



Goose Creek CISD retirees were honored at a May 26 celebration at Ross S. Sterling High School. Photo gallery

Goose Creek CISD honors retiring employees at May 26 Gala

Goose Creek CISD honored 21 of its retiring employees at the annual Gala on May 26. A "Hats Off" event was held at Ross S. Sterling High School, where colleagues, family members and friends paid tribute to these individuals for their combined 430 years plus of service to the district.

One of the wonderful things about this district is that we have so many people who have devoted so many years to the children of Goose Creek. Thanks to all of you for your continued commitment to our district," said Dr. Toby York, Superintendent of Schools.

'And as we talk about commitment, I'd like to point out that our retiring employees represent a wide range of areas that contribute to the successful operations of our district — we have teachers; administrators, central office personnel; food service, custodians, security, and special education staff members . . . each one is so very important to our core purpose, 'Success for all Students,' " York said.

Gala participants and their years of Goose Creek CISD service included Terrie Gala participants and their years of Goose Creek CISD service included Terrie
Andrews, Bowie Elementary School teacher, 27 years; Rebecca Armstrong, Lamar
Elementary School teacher, 19 years; Becky Boul, Goose Creek Memorial High
School teacher, 10 years; Nicolas Guzman, Ashbel Smith Elementary
School custodian, 21 years; Suzanne Keith, Victoria Walker

Elementary School Principal, 33 years; Elsa Kleiman, Horace Mann Junior School teacher, 33 years; Theresa Leonce, Special education department custodian, 22 teacher, 33 years; Theresa Leonce, Special education department custodian, 22 years; Cheryl Omtvedt, Alamo Elementary School teacher, 21 years; Rozell Reese, Bowie Elementary School custodian, 36 years; Connie Rupp, Highlands Junior School teacher, 3 years; Patty Russell, Walker Elementary School teacher, 27 years; Edwin Scates, Supervisor of Custodians, 20 years; John Staples, Cedar Bayou Junior School teacher, 15 years; Lawrence Stratmann, Assistant Security Chief, 17 years; Cheryl Sturrock, Goose Creek Memorial High School teacher, 14 years; Leslie Anderson, Crockett Elementary School teacher, 16 years; Jan Novosad, dyslexia specialist/teacher, 23 years; Deborah Wood, Ashbel Smith Elementary School teacher, 20 years; Carolyn Johnson, Highlands Junior School teacher. 27 years: Patti Lannou, secretary to the superintendent, 27 years; and Ester Simmons, security department officer, 35 years.

The gala also included the recognition of Evah Leigh Primeaux of Austin Elementary School, District Elementary Teacher of the Year; Brenda Boyd of Goose Creek Memorial High School, District Secondary Teacher of the Year, and Faith Smith-Chew of Lee High School School, winner of the James Becker Thomson Award for excellence in Special Education.

Entertainment was provided by the Ross S. Sterling High School Orchestra under the direction of Stuart Eisen.

Share This!





© Goose Creek Consolidated Independent School District

Physical Address: Independent School District 4544 Interstate 10 East Baytown, Texas 77521 281.420.4800

Mailing Address Goose Creek Consolidated Independent School District P.O. Box 30 Baytown, Texas 77522 281.420.4800

Statement of Non-Discrimination Contact the Webmaster Required Internet Postings Site Map Google Translate