

## Goose Creek CISD to honor 2010 retirees, teachers of the year on May 27

Goose Creek CISD will honor its 2010 retirees, and campus and district Teachers of the Year at the "Hats Off," celebration on May 27 at Goose Creek Memorial High School, 6001 E. Wallisville. The event will begin with a 5 p.m. program, followed by a reception.

The event will include the announcement of this year's District Elementary and Secondary Teachers of the Year.

Campus Teachers of the Year at the elementary level include Judy Jirrels, Alamo; Belinda Morales, Ashbel Smith; Barbi Mitchell, B.P. Hopper; Adriana Herevia, Crockett; Catherine Rangel, Carver; Aaron Berklund, Sheryl Ford, Harlem; Highlands; Lilia Gomez Tinoco, Bowie; Brenda Clem, De Zavala; Kristi Warren, De Zavala; Ruth Perez, Lamar; Sarah Bell, San Jacinto; Carol Colvin, Austin; Elba Pagan, Travis; and Tammy Marshall, Walker.

Campus Teachers of the Year from the secondary schools include Jerry Shafer, Baytown Junior; Judy Mackyeon, Cedar Bayou Junior; Sharla Bigler, Gentry Junior; K. Nicole Bright, Highlands Junior; Noemi C. Liggett, Horace Mann Junior; Robin Richards, Sterling High; Lea Ann Gardner, Lee High; Patti Bell, Goose Creek Memorial High; BJ McCoy, School Community Guidance Center; Wilda Archangel Neal, Peter E. Hyland Center; and Jonathan Mark Garrett, Stuart Career Center.

In addition, Christina Langhorne of Crockett Elementary School has been named the winner of the James Becker Thomson Award for Special Education Excellence. The event also will include recognition of the Campus Teachers of the Year and James Becker Thomson Award winner.

Before recognizing the district's top teachers, Goose Creek CISD will honor 24 retiring employees. This year's retiring employees represent more than 369 years of service in Goose Creek and a total of 460 years in education. The 24 retiring employees include Cindy Hightower, Lamar counselor; Mary Sitarski, Goose Creek Memorial teacher; Elvira Aramuburo, Ashbel Smith food service worker; Juanita Ball, cafeteria manager at Hopper Primary; Pat Allen, teacher at Hopper Primary; Mar Futrell, Secondary Language Arts coordinator; Robin Stoerner, De Zavala principal; Truman McIntyre, Austin teacher; Catherine Edwards, Highlands Elementary teacher; Wirginia Sherry, Lamar teacher; Carolyn Longbotham, Walker teacher; Roxanne Hill, Austin teacher; William Thornton, Highlands Junior coach; Judith Duncan, Highlands Elementary principal; Sarah Bell, San Jacinto teacher; Nan Marie Tiller, Horace Mann teacher; Tanis Fink, coordinator of Health/Physical Education and Nurses; Richard Harris, assistant principal at the School-Community Guidance Center; Bob Graziano, Horace Mann counselor; Lillian Little, Gentry service manager; Beverly DeLoach, Student-Community Guidance Center receptionist/attendance clerk; and Nina Jones Hennessy, San Jacinto and Travis educational diagnostician.

After the program, attendees will be invited to a reception where they can have refreshments, visit with retirees and teachers of the year, hear student entertainment, and watch a district-produced slide show highlighting the education careers of the 2010 retirees.



## © Goose Creek Consolidated Independent School District

Physical Address: Goose Creek Consolidated Independent School District 4544 Interstate 10 East Baytown, Texas 77521 281.420.4800 Mailing Address: Goose Creek Consolidated Independent School District P.O. Box 30 Baytown, Texas 77522 281 420 4800 <u>Statement of Non-Discrimination</u> <u>Contact the Webmaster</u> <u>Required Internet Postings</u> <u>Site Map</u> <u>Google Translate</u>