## **BOARD WRAPUP**

## GOOSE CREEK CONSOLIDATED INDEPENDENT SCHOOL DISTRICT

## REGULAR MEETING OF THE BOARD OF TRUSTEES - April 10, 2023

### **OPENING EXERCISES**

 The prayer was led by President Richard Clem. The pledges to the American flag and Texas flag were led by Lamar Elementary School student, Olivia Favela. The choir students sung the song, "Roar." Students performing were: Olivia Favela, Arcilia Favela, Laura Lopez, Gabriel Lopez, Ceasar Lopez, Allyson Hernandez, Leia Lopez, Gianna Lopez, Julian Mederos and Jasmine Woodley. Students are under the direction of music teacher, Ms. Eason and principal, Maria Rosas-Gonzalez.

### RECOGNITIONS AND ACKNOWLEDGEMENTS

- Salute to Maria Rosas-Gonzalez
- 2023 Salad Bowl Winners-It's Time Texas Community Challenge
- Houston Area Association of Bilingual Education (HAABE) Teacher of the Year 2022-23
- Leadership Experience to Advance Development (LEAD) Academy
- 2023 Elementary and Secondary Principal of the Year

### CITIZENS PARTICIPATION

Six citizens spoke on district concerns.

### APPROVAL OF MINUTES

March 6, 2023, Regular Board Meeting

### SUPERINTENDENT'S REPORT

- Dual Language Two-Way Report Update
- Herff-Jones Yearbook Presentation





## **BOARD WRAPUP**

## GOOSE CREEK CONSOLIDATED INDEPENDENT SCHOOL DISTRICT

### **ACTION ITEMS**

- Donation from ExxonMobil
- Engagement Letter from the Independent Audit Firm of Mays & Associates for the District's Annual Financial Audit for the Fiscal Year 2022-2023
- Resolution Extending the Depository Contract for Funds of GCCISD
- Instructional Allotment and TEKS Certification for 2023-2024
- Proposed Low Attendance Waiver for DeZavala Elementary on March 31, 2023
- Herff-Jones as vendor for yearbooks
- Grant MOU between the City of Houston Health Department (HHD) and GCCISD
- Agreements between Harris and Chambers County and GCCISD relating to joint election to be held on May 6, 2023
- Resolution opposing vouchers, education savings accounts, taxpayer savings grants, and other mechanisms that divert public education funding
- Final option to extend RFP for beverage vending services
- · Third option to extend RFP for generator maintenance, repair, and inspection service
- First option to extend CSP for maintenance/building supplies and materials
- Tax refunds
- Budget amendments
- Adoption of the TASB Superintendent of the Year 2023 Resolution to Nominate Dr. Randal O'Brien, Superintendent of Schools, for his exemplary and visionary leadership toward improving student performance in our schools
- Rescheduled July 3<sup>rd</sup> Board meeting to July 10<sup>th</sup>





# **BOARD WRAPUP**

## GOOSE CREEK CONSOLIDATED INDEPENDENT SCHOOL DISTRICT

### PERSONNEL ACTION ITEMS

- Approved elections of **Rebecka Roberts**, teacher, assigned to Alamo and **Chanel Smith**, teacher, assigned to **Banuelos**.
- Approved resignations of Olga Auguste, fifth grade teacher at DeZavala; Alma Avalos, third grade bilingual teacher at DeZavala; Michael Badders, social studies teacher/coach at Highlands Junior School; Sabrina Bertrand, ELA teacher at E.F. Green; Daniel Bevill, third grade teacher at Bowie; Lauren Bludworth, ELA teacher at GCM; Allisha Bomer, third grade teacher at Alamo; Shawna Braswell, special-education/resource inclusion teacher at Crockett; Adrienne Brett, second grade teacher at Alamo; Rebecca Carroll, licensed specialist in School Psychology; Ana Cavazos, fourth grade teacher at Travis; Chelsea Calwson, second grade teacher at Travis; Carly Delino, counselor at Alamo; Christina Espinosa, first grade teacher at Clark; Benito Galvan, math teacher at Sterling; Lori Gaughan, art teacher at CBJ; Meredith Gonzalez, history teacher at GCM; Adam Groleau, math teacher at Horace Mann; Mary Grosjean, chemistry teacher at Lee; Angela Hamilton, first grade teacher at Clark; Rebecca Hanks, fifth grade teacher at Carver; Judith Hicks, third grade teacher at Pumphrey; Debra Ibarra, ELA teacher at E.F. Green; Kristin Icenhour, pre-k teacher at Pumphrey; Joynesha Jones, assistant principal at Crockett; Elaina Kloecker, elementary technology integration specialist; Myra LaVergne, nurse at Horace Mann; Robert Lewis, intervention-credit recovery teacher at Sterling; Chelsea Linan, second grade teacher at Carver; Hannah Mayorga, first grade teacher at Pumphrey; Garrett McGinley, ELA teacher at CBJ; Cynthia Minor, math teacher at Peter Hyland; Heidi Morgan, elementary technology integration specialist; Maria Murillo, kindergarten dual language teacher at Harlem; Rayneil Nelson, special education-inclusion teacher/coach at Sterling; Hiep Nguyen, algebra teacher at GCM; Fatima Palma, kindergarten teacher at Harlem; Randon Pierson, science teacher at Sterling; Jo'Van Prater, fifth grade teacher at Clark; Jill Reed, first grade teacher at Ashbel Smith; Ashley Riley, kindergarten teacher at Harlem; Jessica Sanchez, assistant principal at Travis; Jonathan Sanchez, fifth grade teacher at Bowie; Marisa Scarborough, CTE-Human Services/Hospitality teacher at Sterling; LaTanya Sigee, kindergarten teacher at DeZavala; Jacqueline Solomon, pre-k teacher at Pumphrey; William Stanley, social studies teacher at Sterling; Eliu Torres, science teacher at Stuart; Rachel Washko, ELA teacher at GCM; Cynthia Williams, special education-visually impaired teacher and Ronald Wyatt, human resources director.
- Approved the retirement of Jo Felder, special-education/resource inclusion teacher at Clark; Michele George,
  English Language Arts teacher at CBJ; Bryan Gesford, PE teacher at CBJ; Terry Huron, special education-life skills
  teacher at Sterling; Randolph Larson, PE teacher at GCM; Steve Loutan, science teacher at Highlands Junior; William
  Mize, PE teacher at Bowie; Amy Moser, Title I-Teaching and Learning Coach at Banuelos; Monica O'Brien, language
  arts instructional specialist; Maria Rosas-Gonzalez, principal at Lamar Elementary; and Joella Whitley, nurse at POINT.
- Approved administrative elections of Brittney Culpepper, Coordinator of Marketing and Martha A. Rangel, LSSP Intern.

### **FUTURE BOARD MEETING**

The next Regular Board meeting is scheduled for May 1<sup>st</sup> at the Goose Creek CISD Administration Building.
 All Regular Board meetings are set for <u>6 p.m.</u>



