BOARD WRAPUP GOOSE CREEK CONSOLIDATED INDEPENDENT SCHOOL DISTRICT

REGULAR MEETING OF THE BOARD OF TRUSTEES - May 1, 2023

OPENING EXERCISES

The prayer was led by Board Secretary Howard Sampson. The pledges to the American flag and Texas flag
were led by Lorenzo DeZavala Elementary School student, Emmanuel Cerino. The DeZavala Drum Line
students performed the song, "DZ's Groove." Students performing were: Gabriel Valverde, Morgan Parker,
Sofia Barbosa, Kovidh Khandelwal, Trae Smith, Sayra Raya, Michael Acosta, Camryn Myers, Braxton
Landers, Emmanuel Cerino, Lizbet Gomez, Naius Ambrose, Azued Serrano and Prince Collins. Students are
under the direction of fifth grade math teacher, Aisha Roches and principal, Victoria Allen.

RECOGNITIONS AND ACKNOWLEDGEMENTS

- Salute to Michelle Duhon
- GCCISD Education Foundation Grant Donation
- Scholastic Writing Contest Award Winners
- ExxonMobil Writing Contest Winners
- MathCounts Award Winners
- Scholastic Art Award Winners
- State VASE Award Winners
- CTE Award Winners (FBLA, FCCLA, FFA, HOSA, Robotics, TSA and TAFE)

PUBLIC HEARING

• Federal ESSA IDEA Perkins ESSER III PP

CITIZENS PARTICIPATION

• Two citizens spoke on door locks/school safety



BOARD WRAPUP GOOSE CREEK CONSOLIDATED INDEPENDENT SCHOOL DISTRICT

APPROVAL OF MINUTES

• April 10, 2023, Regular Board Meeting

ACTION ITEMS

- GCCISD Education Foundation donation
- Budget Amendments
- Schedule special meeting on May 16th to Canvass Election Results
- Reschedule June 19th Board meeting to June 26th

PERSONNEL ACTION ITEMS

Approved elections of Shea Bolton, teacher, assigned to Ross S. Sterling High School; Antionette Brown, teacher, assigned to Robert E. Lee High School; Anissa Culp, teacher, assigned to Baňuelos Elementary School; Keren Dove, teacher, assigned to Hopper Primary School; Sage Engle, teacher, assigned to Gentry Junior School; Raquaile Francis, teacher, assigned to Cedar Bayou Junior School; Klarissa Garza, teacher, assigned to Horace Mann Junior School; Daena George, teacher, assigned to Harlem Elementary School; Kourtney Harrelson, teacher, assigned to Victoria Walker Elementary School; Seth Harris, teacher, assigned to Ross S. Sterling High School; Alayna Hasley, teacher, assigned to Gentry Junior School; Julio Hernandez, teacher, assigned to Goose Creek Memorial High School; Jillian Holderfield, teacher, assigned to Ashbel Smith Elementary School; Christina Hunter, teacher, assigned to Bowie Elementary School; Kristie Jernigan, teacher, assigned to Travis Elementary School; Eva Martinez, teacher, assigned to Highlands Elementary School; Breanna McClanahan, teacher, assigned to Harlem Elementary School; Courtlyn McCormick, teacher, assigned to Cedar Bayou Junior School; Tonia Mears, teacher, assigned to Carver Elementary School; Reagan Medina, teacher, assigned to Victoria Walker Elementary School; Tiffany Meismer, teacher, assigned to Crockett Elementary School; Heather Neumann, teacher, assigned to Carver Elementary School; Veronica Patino, teacher, assigned to Travis Elementary School; Maria Pena-Borunda, teacher, assigned to Goose Creek Memorial High School; Cassandra Phenix, teacher, assigned to Goose Creek Memorial High School; Nicole Pickard, teacher, assigned to Bowie Elementary School; Mariela Rivera, teacher, assigned to Carver Elementary School; Kellis Roberts, teacher, assigned to Hopper Primary School; Sandra Santos, teacher, assigned to Baňuelos Elementary School; Stephen Schein, teacher, assigned to Stuart Career Tech High School; Breanna Schuessler,





BOARD WRAPUP

teacher, assigned to Gentry Junior School; **Desiree Shankle**, teacher, assigned to Peter E. Hyland Center; **Jessica Shirey**, teacher, assigned to Baňuelos Elementary School; **Kameshia Simpson**, teacher, assigned to Gentry Junior School; **Arielle Sims**, teacher, assigned to Bowie Elementary School; **Amy Stoner**, teacher, assigned to Baytown Junior School; **Cathy Sylvester**, teacher, assigned to E.F. Green Junior School; **David Washington**, teacher, assigned to POINT Alternative Center; **Sierra Wheeler**, teacher, assigned to Crockett Elementary School; **Jeremy Williams**, teacher, assigned to Baňuelos Elementary School, and **Ashlee Wilson**, teacher, assigned to Cedar Bayou Junior School.

- Approved resignations of Sharon Andris, fourth grade teacher at Dr. Antonio Bañuelos Elementary School; Luz Antolinez-Basto, Spanish teacher at Baytown Junior School; Kathryn Bright, Title I – Teaching and Learning Coach at Baytown Junior School; Kayla Browder, second grade teacher at David Crockett Elementary School; Elijah Chenier, English Language Arts teacher at Goose Creek Memorial High School; Raquelle Cuellar, social studies teacher at Highlands Junior School; Paul Dawson, student support administrator at Ashbel Smith Elementary school; Melania Dominguez, bilingual third grade teacher at San Jacinto Elementary School; Dayesha Dunham, specialist - literacy coach; David Erwin, English Language Arts teacher at Edward F. Green Junior School; Kaylyn Firebaugh, English Language Arts teacher at Gentry Junior School; Kelsey Foret, algebra teacher at Goose Creek Memorial High School; Ruben Galicia-Tapia, third grade teacher at San Jacinto Elementary School; Leah Gamble, nurse at William B. Travis Elementary School; Marley Gilmore, prekindergarten teacher at Liles Early Learning Academy; Maria Gutierrez-Rezal, Spanish teacher at IMPACT Early College High School; Maeve Hanchrow, orchestra director at Cedar Bayou Junior School; Heather Hentges, English Language Arts teacher at POINT Alternative Center; Steven Jackson, mathematics teacher/coach at Ross S. Sterling High School; Britney Johnson, special education – resource/inclusion teacher/coach at Robert E. Lee High School; Kevin Kaup, English Language Arts teacher at IMPACT Early College High School; Heather Komasa, mathematics teacher at Horace Mann Junior School; Caroline Koonce, first grade teacher at Alamo Elementary School; Irina Korotaeva, math instructional specialist; Claire Lucke, first grade teacher at Bonnie P. Hopper Primary School; Alondra Ochoa, dual-language second grade teacher at David Crockett Elementary School; Brandy Onken, advanced academics and special projects coordinator; April Page, fourth grade teacher at Ashbel Smith Elementary School; Daisy Palacios, pre-kindergarten teacher at Jesse Lee Pumphrey Elementary School; Nohemi Razo, biology teacher at Ross S. Sterling High School; Sarah Rodriguez, CTE – STEM teacher at Cedar Bayou Junior School; Aleke Stoddart, CTE – STEM teacher at Gentry Junior School; Julia Sunderman, art teacher at Dr. Johnny T. Clark Elementary School and Christina Veillon, second grade teacher at Highlands Elementary School.
- Approved the retirement of **Cary Duhon**, CTE construction technology teacher at Goose Creek Memorial High School; **Michelle Duhon**, principal at George H. Gentry Junior School and **Deborah King**, educational diagnostician.
- Approved Administrative Elections of Lara Abbott, Licensed Specialist in School Psychology; Lillian Aguirre, Diagnostician; Aida Peña-Perez, ARD Facilitator; Michelle Rivera, Speech Language Pathologist and Wendy Goodman, Mathematics Instructional Specialist

FUTURE BOARD MEETING



BOARD WRAPUP GOOSE CREEK CONSOLIDATED INDEPENDENT SCHOOL DISTRICT

• The next Regular Board meeting is scheduled for **May 22nd** at E.F. Green Junior School. All Regular Board meetings are set for <u>6 p.m.</u>



