# **Board Wrapup**

# GOOSE CREEK CONSOLIDATED INDEPENDENT SCHOOL DISTRICT

# REGULAR MEETING OF THE BOARD OF TRUSTEES - May 4, 2020

## RECOGNITIONS AND ACKNOWLEDGEMENTS

Recognition of Top Ten Students

Listed below are the top ten 2019-2020 graduating seniors of each high school campus.

## **GOOSE CREEK MEMORIAL HIGH SCHOOL**

Valedictorian Skylar Newton Salutatorian Jatin Kulkarni Third Vanessa Mendoza Fourth Madison Moyer Fifth Gloria Medina Sixth Oswald Aguirre Seventh Haley Jimenez Eighth Anna Keyes Ninth Ruth Patino Tenth Anthony Ceja

#### IMPACT EARLY COLLEGE HIGH SCHOOL

ValedictorianDaniela GomezSalutatorianAlexandria PedersenThirdLesly Chavez

Fourth Abraham Montoya Arechiga

Fifth Noe Sanchez
Sixth Diego Gomez
Seventh Izailah Ortuno
Eighth Adilene Torquemada

Ninth Lauren Cruz
Tenth Hector Alvarez

### **ROBERT E. LEE HIGH SCHOOL**

Valedictorian Megan Marie Fox

Salutatorian Johana Areli Chavez Valencia

Third Raul Benavides III

Fourth Sergio Andres Casas Martinez

Fifth Zachary William Bogle
Sixth Zachary Aaron Patterson
Seventh Christina Elaine Rodriguez
Eighth Justo Angel Rodriguez
Ninth Jose Angel Garcia
Tenth Josue Valladares Jr.



# **Board Wrapup**

# GOOSE CREEK CONSOLIDATED INDEPENDENT SCHOOL DISTRICT

#### ROSS S. STERLING HIGH SCHOOL

Valedictorian Tramy Amanda Nguyen

Salutatorian Isabel Anne Marie De La Rosa

Third Zhi Cheng Lin Fourth Andy Ly

Fifth Christel Joan Palandangan Vallagomesa

Sixth Grace Ann Harper
Seventh Cherilyn Grace Dudley
Eighth Natalie Elizabeth Charlson
Ninth Matthew David Ward
Tenth Reagan Colleen Malpass

#### Perfect Attendance

The following 2019-2020 senior was recognized for having perfect attendance throughout her kindergarten through 12 grade enrollment.

Ixzel Amador-Ross S. Sterling High School

#### CITIZENS PARTICIPATION

· Sixteen citizens addressed the board

#### APPROVAL OF MINUTES

• Approved minutes from April 14, 2020, Regular Board Meeting

#### DISCUSSION ITEMS

- Athletic Program Update
- Overview of Graduation Procedure

### APPROVED BOARD ACTION ITEMS

- Naming of Junior School No. 6, Edward Franklin "E. F." Green
- Engagement Letter from the Independent Audit Firm of Start, Garcia & Stanley, LLC for the District's Annual Financial Audit for the Fiscal Year 2019-2020
- ❖ Board Policy CDA (LOCAL); Other Revenues; Investments
- Resolution for the School District's Approved Sources of Instruction Relating to Investment Responsibilities
- List of Qualified Broker/Dealers and Financial Institutions for 2020-2021
- Suspend Goose Creek CISD Board Policy DED (LOCAL); Compensation and Benefits Vacations and Holidays
- Purchase of 30 School Buses for GCCISD Transportation Department
- Selected construction Manager At Risk (CMAR) as the Delivery Method for the Stuart Career Tech High School Phase 4 Project
- Award of RFP for Generator Maintenance, Repair, and Inspection Services
- Tax Refunds



# **Board Wrapup**

# GOOSE CREEK CONSOLIDATED INDEPENDENT SCHOOL DISTRICT

## PERSONNEL ACTION ITEMS

- Approved the election of Jacob Cook, teacher, assigned to Ross S. Sterling High School; Mercy Jernigan, teacher, assigned to Goose Creek Memorial High School; Giovanna Nieto, teacher, assigned to Cedar Bayou Jr; Kyran Scott, teacher, assigned to POINT; Mark Seymour, teacher, assigned to Highlands Junior High School; Shannon Talbott, teacher, assigned to Horace Mann Junior High School
- Approved resignations of Crystal Dawson, mathematics teacher at George H. Gentry Junior School; Linda De La Rosa, second grade teacher at James Bowie Elementary School; Theresa Dollison Rivera, English Language Arts teacher at George H. Gentry Junior School; Emilie Downs, special ed. – behavior support program teacher at James Bowie Elementary School; Daisy Duarte, fourth grade bilingual teacher at Mirabeau B. Lamar Elementary School; Jamie Fipps, Diagnostician; Derek Fiterman, science teacher, at Robert E. Lee High School; Jamie Graham, third grade teacher at Highlands Elementary School; Ashleigh Henderson, kindergarten teacher at David Crockett Elementary School; Julie Jannise, AVID teacher at Robert E. Lee High School; Hillary Johnson, special education – resource/inclusion teacher at David Crockett Elementary School; Dannielle Leger, fourth grade teacher at Dr. Antonio Banuelos Elementary School; Lydia Maddox, campus instructional specialist at Highlands Elementary School; Lindsay Mulryan. special ed. - SILC teacher at David Crockett Elementary School; Jennifer Salyer, nurse at Highlands Junior School; Jessica Vasquez, librarian at Alamo Elementary School; Casey Veen, physical education teacher/coach at Goose Creek Memorial High School; Lisa Whitaker, English Language Arts teacher at George H. Gentry Junior School; Tracey Woodson, English Language Arts teacher at Horace Mann Junior School; Callie Yarbrough, mathematics teacher at Robert E. Lee High School; Anna Young, fourth grade teacher at Highlands Elementary School
- Approved the retirement of Belinda Williams, diagnostician
- Approved the administrative election of Licensed Specialist in School Psychology, Rachael E. Dawson; K-12 Social Studies Specialist, Ryan D. Monceaux; Area Executive Director, Sandy Conklin
- Approved Renewal or Termination of Employment of Instructional Personnel Contracts
- Approved the 4th Year Probationary Contract of Amber Wright, Stephanie Ramirez, and Vaughn Ayers

### **FUTURE BOARD MEETINGS**

The next Regular Board meeting is scheduled for May 18, 2020. All Regular Board meetings are set for <u>6:00 p.m</u>.

