

GOOSE CREEK CONSOLIDATED INDEPENDENT SCHOOL DISTRICT

REGULAR MEETING OF THE BOARD OF TRUSTEES - August 3, 2020

OPENING EXERCISES

The pledge to the American flag was led by student **Ava Flood** from Austin Elementary and the pledge to Texas flag was led by **David Foxworth** from Ross S. Sterling.

McKenzie Comeaux and **Bryce Comeaux** performed "You Raise Me Up" dedicated to the teachers and administration of Goose Creek CISD. The prayer was led by Assistant Secretary **Richard Clem**.

CITIZENS PARTICIPATION

• Multiple Citizens Addressed the Board of Trustees Regarding the school name consideration of Robert E. Lee High School

APPROVAL OF MINUTES

• July 6, 2020, Regular Board Meeting and July 13, 2020 Special Board Meeting as presented

DISCUSSION ITEMS

- Strategic Plan
- Facilities Update
- Safe Return to School Plan (Contingent)
- Consideration of School Name

APPROVED BOARD ACTION ITEMS

- 2020 Tax Collection Rate and Excess Debt Collection Proceeds
- Asynchronous and Synchronous Attestations
- Revised 2020-2021 Instructional Calendar
- Interlocal Agreement with Region 4 Education Service Center for Technology Equipment
- Waiving Up to Five Staff Development Days for 2020-2021 School Year
- Resolution Delegating Authority to Act in Place of the Goose Creek Consolidated Independent School District Board of Trustees During Modified Operations





GOOSE CREEK CONSOLIDATED INDEPENDENT SCHOOL DISTRICT

- Third Option to Extend RFP for Specialized Services for Special Education Students with Mental Health and/or Behavioral Disabilities
- Competitive Sealed Proposals (CSP) as the Delivery Method for the Elementary Number Seventeen Project
- Competitive Sealed Proposals (CSP) as the Delivery Method for the Junior School Running Tracks Project
- Endorsement of Representatives for Texas Association of School Board (TASB) Board of Directors, Region 4, Positions B, D and H
- Rescheduled September 7, 2020, Regular Meeting to September 9, 2020
- Budget Amendments

PERSONNEL ACTION ITEMS

- Approved resignations of Lillian Aguirre, educational diagnostician; Maria Cristina Andre, prekindergarten teacher at George Washington Carver Elementary School; Earlsworth Baptiste, student support administrator at Horace Mann Junior School; Heather Barrett, assistant principal at Baytown Junior School; Kanestra Bland, academic dean at Goose Creek Memorial High School; Winter Butler, first grade teacher at Harlem Elementary School; Jenae Farnsworth, second grade teacher at David Crockett Elementary School; Joseph Farnsworth, principal at Robert E. Lee High School; Jennifer Fierro, academic dean at Ross S. Sterling High School; Lauren Fox, social studies teacher/coach at Highlands Junior School; Vance Hale, health education teacher at Ross S. Sterling High School; Beverly Joseph, campus at-risk interventionist at Highlands Junior School; Stephanie Juarez, special education – resource/inclusion teacher at Harlem Elementary School; Lindsey Kreft, ESL teacher at Goose Creek Memorial High School; Lindsey Marek, CTE Coordinator; Briyania Nugent, fourth grade teacher at Dr. Antonio Bañuelos Elementary School; Ahime Ornelas, assistant principal at James Bowie Elementary School; Robert Robinson, social studies teacher/coach at Robert E. Lee High School; Linda Torrez-Mann, Behavior & Mental Health Interventionist at IMPACT Early College High School
- Approved notification of elections of Ashley Alexander, teacher, assigned to Horace Mann Junior School; Perla Andrade, teacher, assigned to Alamo Elementary School; Micah Arabie, teacher, assigned to Highlands Junior School; Nydira Balgobin, teacher, assigned to Highlands Junior School; Elmore Bess, teacher, assigned to Ross S. Sterling High School; Aleisha Blanchard, teacher, assigned to Crockett Elementary School; Crystal Butler, teacher, assigned to Highlands Elementary School; Luz Contreras, teacher, assigned to Bañuelos Elementary School; Brian Dixon, teacher, assigned to Stuart Career Tech High School; Nicole Dube, teacher, assigned to Crockett Elementary School; Gloria Duran, teacher, assigned to Goose Creek Memorial High School; Leslie Gann, teacher, assigned to Lamar Elementary School; Laura Garza, teacher, assigned to Bañuelos Elementary School; Clym Gatrell, teacher, assigned to Ross S. Sterling High School; Jordan Gibson, teacher, assigned to Hopper Primary School;

Damien Gradney, teacher, assigned to Baytown Junior School; Brandy Graham, teacher, assigned to



Board Wrapup

GOOSE CREEK CONSOLIDATED INDEPENDENT SCHOOL DISTRICT

Horace Mann Junior School; Kendra Hoff, teacher, assigned to Horace Mann Junior School; Ikeeya Hunt, teacher, assigned to Highlands Elementary School: Alvaliz Jimenez, teacher, assigned to Stuart Career Tech High School; Rebecca Kerl, teacher, assigned to Bowie Elementary School; Imani Lee, teacher, assigned to Stuart Career Tech High School; Yasmin Lenzy, teacher, assigned to Baytown Junior School; Akilia Marritt, teacher, assigned to Bowie Elementary School; Samantha Marziale, teacher, assigned to Cedar Bayou Junior School; Timothy McCarty, teacher, assigned to Stuart Career Tech High School: Garrett McGinley, teacher, assigned to Cedar Bayou Junior School: Victoria McGinty, teacher, assigned to Austin Elementary School; Shaq Morales, teacher, assigned to Bañuelos Elementary School; Erika Munoz, teacher, assigned to De Zavala Elementary School; Joshua Nerona, teacher, assigned to Highlands Junior School; Ian Owens, teacher, assigned to Goose Creek Memorial High School; Sienna Paul, teacher, assigned to Bañuelos Elementary School; Shaydie Pollard, teacher, assigned to Ross S. Sterling High School; Caroline Radtke, teacher, assigned to Gentry Junior School; Amparo Ramirez, teacher, assigned to Carver Elementary School; Jalen Roan, teacher, assigned to Horace Mann Junior School; Anthony Rodriguez, teacher, assigned to Gentry Junior School; Maximino Salinas, teacher, assigned to Horace Mann Junior School; Stephanie Schwartz Ross, teacher, assigned to Highlands Elementary School; Miranda Sciortino, teacher, assigned to Cedar Bayou Junior School; Rachel Stafford, teacher, assigned to Bañuelos Elementary School; Khaliyah Stewart, teacher, assigned to Robert E. Lee High School; Kayla Tomlinson, teacher, assigned to Crockett Elementary School; Victoria Vargas, teacher, assigned to Bowie Elementary School; Lauren Weisheit, teacher, assigned to Carver Elementary School; Jasmine Wheatfall, teacher, assigned to Baytown Junior School

- Approved the administrative election of Student Support Administrator at Alamo Elementary, Heather Tolleson; Academic Dean at Ross S. Sterling High School, Julie Bollich; High School Principal at Robert E. Lee High School, Dr. Rom Crespo
- Resolution and Settlement of Pending Litigation Titled Brandon Torres v. Goose Creek CISD and Randal O'Brien, Cause No. 18-cv-4803, in the United States District Court for the Southern District of Texas, Houston Division as presented in Executive Session

FUTURE BOARD MEETINGS

The next Regular Board meeting is scheduled for September 9, 2020. All Regular Board meetings are set for <u>6:00 p.m</u>.

