## **BOARD WRAPUP**

#### GOOSE CREEK CONSOLIDATED INDEPENDENT SCHOOL DISTRICT

#### RECOGNITION OF TOP TEN STUDENTS

GCCISD 2024-2025 Top Ten Students from each high school were presented

## REGULAR MEETING OF THE BOARD OF TRUSTEES - May 20, 2024

#### **OPENING EXERCISES**

The prayer was led by board member, Richard Clem.

The pledges of Allegiance to the United States and Texas flag were recited by GCCISD Valedictorians: Swayam Gupta, Alexa Cristal Torres, Andrea Lauren Lopez, Hanna Elisa Coker, and Ashlynn McMackin.

#### CITIZENS PARTICIPATION

A. A concerned citizen spoke about Briscoe Cain's reelection.

#### APPROVAL OF MINUTES

May 6, 2024, Budget Workshop No. 3

May 6, 2024, Regular Board Meeting

#### DISCUSSION ITEMS

- A. Superintendent's Reports
  - a. Budget Workshop No. 4
  - b. Facility Rental Update

#### APPROVED ACTION ITEMS

- 1. 2024-2025 Compensation Package
- 2. Adoption of the Resolution Authorizing Employee Pay Due to Emergency Closure of the District
- 3. Proposed Low Attendance Waivers for Alamo, Austin, Bowie, Carver, Harlem, Highlands, Lamar, San Jacinto, Ashbel Smith, Travis, Hopper, Crockett, De Zavala, Clark, Bañuelos, Liles, Baytown Jr, Cedar Bayou JR, Highlands Jr, Horace Mann Jr, Gentry Jr, E.F. Green Jr, REL, RSS, PEH, GCM, IMPACT, and SCTHS on April 29, 2024





# **BOARD WRAPUP**

### GOOSE CREEK CONSOLIDATED INDEPENDENT SCHOOL DISTRICT

- 4. Proposed Low Attendance Waiver for Alamo, Austin, Carver, Harlem, Highlands, Lamar, Ashbel Smith, Hopper, Crockett, De Zavala, Clark, Bañuelos, Liles, Baytown Jr, Cedar Bayou Jr, Highlands Jr, Horace Mann Jr, and REL on April 8, 2024, (Eclipse Day)
- 5. Memorandum of Understanding (MOU) with Harris County Department of Education for Fortis Academy (Recovery High School)
- 6. MOU with Juvenile Justice Alternative Education Program (JJAEP) for the 2024-2025 School Year
- 7. MOU with Harris County Department of Education for Highpoint School East
- 8. MOU with Harris County Constable's Office Precinct No. 3
- 9. Conveyance of a 20-Foot-Wide Sanitary Sewer Easement Pursuant to Section 272.001 of Texas Local Government Code
- 10. Budget Amendments

#### PERSONNEL ACTION ITEMS

- 1. Approved elections of Diana Aragon, teacher, assigned to Baňuelos Elementary School, Jasmine Aranda, teacher, assigned to Goose Creek Memorial High School, Paula Black, librarian, assigned to De Zavala Elementary School, Vershonda Campbell, teacher, assigned to Peter E. Hyland Center, Vanessa Cantu, teacher, assigned to De Zavala Elementary School, Eboni Edwards, teacher, assigned to Highlands Elementary School, Ashley Ijeh, teacher, assigned to Highlands Junior School, Katelyn Jenkins, teacher, assigned to Clark Elementary School, Sulma Martinez, teacher, assigned to Carver Elementary School, Rovena Moreno, teacher, assigned to Highlands Elementary School, Clyde Pitre, teacher, assigned to Gentry Junior School, Heather Ramirez, teacher, assigned to De Zavala Elementary School, Bryssa Rodriguez, teacher, assigned to Cedar Bayou Junior School, Amairani Rubio, teacher, assigned to De Zavala Elementary School, Tahira Sawadogo, teacher, assigned to Lamar Elementary School, and Sandra Weber, teacher, assigned to Highlands Elementary School.
- 2. Approved resignations of Erin Arnette, behavior management interventionist, Alva Bell-Olivarez, special education resource/inclusion teacher at Edward F. Green Junior School, Yuri Cerino, assistant band director at Horace Mann Junior School, Darcie Dubler, ESL teacher at Goose Creek Memorial High School, Rebecca Estrada, counselor at Horace Mann Junior School, Carrie Hutton, science teacher at Highlands Junior School, Jerry Lacefield, mathematics teacher at Goose Creek Memorial High School, Sarahi Marin, first grade dual language teacher at Lorenzo De Zavala Elementary School, Michelle Miller, special education resource/inclusion teacher at David Crockett Elementary School, Stephanie Myers, employee health and wellness director, Hillary O'Grady, ESL teacher at Goose Creek Memorial High School, Hannah O'Neill, mathematics teacher at Baytown Junior School, Ashley Pfitzner, fifth grade teacher at David Crockett Elementary School, Angelia Sherley, second grade teacher at Highlands Elementary School, Christie Sonnier, kindergarten teacher at Alamo Elementary School, Valerie Thompson, nurse at Horace Mann Junior School, John Tremmel, CTE STEM teacher/tennis coach at Ross S. Sterling High School, and Kelsey Wilson, English Language Arts teacher at George H. Gentry Junior School.
- 3. Approved retirements of **Laurinda Glenn**, elementary educational technology specialist, and **Kristine Rebstock**, Title I Teaching and Learning Coach

#### FUTURE BOARD MEETINGS

The next Regular Board meeting is scheduled for June 3, 2024, at the Goose Creek CISD Central Administration Building. All Regular Board meetings are set for 6:00 p.m.



