BOARD WRAPUP

GOOSE CREEK CONSOLIDATED INDEPENDENT SCHOOL DISTRICT

REGULAR MEETING OF THE BOARD OF TRUSTEES - June 3, 2024

OPENING EXERCISES

The prayer was led by board secretary, **Helen Berrott-Tims**.

The pledges of Allegiance to the United States and Texas flag were recited by board president, Tiffany Guy.

RECOGNITIONS AND ACKNOWLEDGEMENTS

- A. Houston Area Association of Bilingual Education (HAABE) Teacher of the Year
- B. HEB Excellence Award
- C. School Health Advisory Council (SHAC) Whole Child Wellness Award Winners

CITIZENS PARTICIPATION

A. A concerned citizen spoke about the anti-bullying committee.

APPROVAL OF MINUTES

May 20, 2024, Top Ten Graduate Reception and Regular Board Meeting, as corrected

DISCUSSION ITEMS

- A. Superintendent's Reports
 - a. Population and Survey Analysts (PASA) Demographic Study
 - b. 2024-2025 Budget Workshop No. 5
 - c. School Health Advisory Council (SHAC) Annual Report
 - d. District- Level Anti-Bullying Committee Update

APPROVED ACTION ITEMS

- A. Audit Engagement Letter from Mays & Associates, PLLC, the District's Independent Auditors, to Perform the District's Annual Financial Audit for the 2023-2024 Fiscal Year
- B. Board Policy CDA (LOCAL); Other Revenues: Investments
- C. Resolution for the School District's Approved Sources of Instruction Relating to Investment Responsibilities
- D. List of Qualified Broker/Dealers and Financial Institutions for 2024-2025





BOARD WRAPUP

GOOSE CREEK CONSOLIDATED INDEPENDENT SCHOOL DISTRICT

- E. Memorandum of Understanding (Interlocal Agreement) Between Goose Creek CISD and Harris County for Community Youth Services (CYS)
 - 1. Two (2) CYS Specialists
 - 2. Eight (8) CYS Specialists
- F. Changing Board Policy for Temporary Disability Leave (TDL) To Align with TEC 21.409
- G. Request for Proposal (RFP) Beverage and Vending Services
- H. Second Option to Extend Request for Proposal (RFP) for Food Service Management Services & Delegation of Authority to the Superintendent to Finalize all Renewal Documents Required By The Texas Department of Agriculture
- I. Tax Refund
- J. Board Evaluation, Board Commitments, and Related Actions

PERSONNEL ACTION ITEMS

- A. Approved administrative election of Jennifer Garcia, Speech Language Pathologist
- B. Approved elections of Shirley Allen, teacher, assigned to Gentry Junior School, Dana Bruton, teacher, assigned to De Zavala Elementary School, Caleb Cannon, teacher, assigned to Horace Mann Junior School, Jaidyn Coffman, teacher, assigned to Gentry Junior School, Emma Davis, teacher, assigned to Victoria Walker Elementary School, Britney Hendricks, teacher, assigned to Goose Creek Memorial High School, Lauren Hendricks, teacher, assigned to Clark Elementary School, Andrea Jackson, teacher, assigned to E. F. Green Junior School, Tina Johnson, teacher, assigned to Crockett Elementary School, Michael Johnston, teacher, assigned to Goose Creek Memorial High School, Reagan Jones, teacher, assigned to Goose Creek Memorial High School, Jasmine Morales, teacher, assigned to Baytown Junior School, Douglas Spaniel, teacher, assigned to Ross S. Sterling High School, Jason Varner, teacher, assigned to Goose Creek Memorial High School, and Mariah Wynstra, teacher, assigned to Goose Creek Memorial High School, and Mariah Wynstra, teacher, assigned to Goose Creek Memorial High School.
- C. Approved resignations of Karen Alexander, special education behavior support program teacher at Harlem Elementary School, Evelyn Bally, third grade dual language teacher at Dr. Antonio Bañuelos Elementary School, Candice Beadles, third grade teacher at Alamo Elementary School, Ernesto Benitez, assistant principal at Baytown Junior School, Deborah Blakeslee, counselor at Goose Creek Memorial High School, Stephanie Castillo, nurse at Jessie Lee Pumphrey Elementary School, Kiara Contreras, kindergarten dual language teacher at Bonnie P. Hopper Primary School, Sheretta Dennis, social studies teacher at Edward F. Green Junior School, Alexcia Duplantier, fifth grade teacher at Highlands Elementary School, Christopher Galmore, science teacher at POINT Alternative Center, Rebekah Grant, diagnostician, Lauren Heffernan, CTE – business education teacher at Goose Creek Memorial High School, Unika Jackson, second grade teacher at James Bowie Elementary School, Tameka Johnson, student wellness interventionist at Edward F. Green Junior School, Jeralan Kannady, principal at Cedar Bayou Junior School, Rebecca Longcore, pre-kindergarten teacher at Stephen F. Austin Elementary School, Jessica Martinez, choir director at Horace Mann Junior School, April Page, fourth grade teacher at Alamo Elementary School, Lianna Perez, first grade teacher at Alamo Elementary School, Brandon Rathke, CTE/STEM academy teacher at Robert E. Lee High School, Kellis Roberts, special education ECSE teacher at Bonnie P. Hopper Primary School, Phillip Roenspie, social studies teacher at George H. Gentry Junior School, Tisha Rojas, mathematics teacher at Edward F. Green Junior School, Ayari San Luis, first grade teacher at Lorenzo De Zavala Elementary School, Kendall Shaw, physical education teacher/coach at Goose Creek Memorial High School, Nicole Singleton, diagnostician, Cassandra Smith, assistant band director at Robert E. Lee High





BOARD WRAPUP

GOOSE CREEK CONSOLIDATED INDEPENDENT SCHOOL DISTRICT

School, **Kristel Sortelli**, mathematics teacher at Ross S. Sterling High School, **Maria Therrell**, first grade dual language teacher at Ashbel Smith Elementary School, **Chase Valverde**, mathematics teacher at Edward F. Green Junior School, and **Heather Workman**, counselor at Ross S. Sterling High School.

FUTURE BOARD MEETINGS

The next Regular Board meeting is scheduled for June 17, 2024, at the Goose Creek CISD Central Administration Building. All Regular Board meetings are set for 6:00 p.m.



