Skip Navigation

Transportation

  • REL and GCM Cheerleaders help with School Supply Drive
    Goose Creek Memorial High School cheerleaders (front, l to r) McKenzie Reznicek, Danielle Bailey,
    Courtnee Lambright, (back) Bria Kately, Kendyl Stewart, Angel Ross, Alexis Moreno, Tayler Macias and Kaylin Strouhal help with the school supply drive sponsored by Altus Emergency Center.

Mission

Our Mission is to successfully transport students in a safe and timely manner as to assure all students the opportunity to acquire an education, and we will achieve our mission by working together harmoniously and in a unified manner.

 

Sr. Director's Office Number: 281-420-4665

 

GCCISD School Bus Drivers

School bus drivers are selected, hired and trained following rigorous selection criteria and a thorough criminal history background check.

 

All GCCISD school bus drivers are trained through the Texas Department of Public Safety, TEA and GCCISD School Bus Driver Certification Courses. Each driver has also earned a Class B Commercial Driver License.

 

Bus drivers are required to pass a pre-employment drug test along with an annual physical and are subject to random drug and alcohol testing.

 

Every driver has successfully completed the required school bus driver training course as well as periodic safety training.

 

GCCISD school bus drivers are professionals and are expected to conduct themselves as such at all times.

 

They work hard to earn the trust and respect of parents/guardians and students.

 

As a result of their dedication and professionalism, they will expect courtesy and consideration from all students and adults.

Contact Information

Transportation
Name Title Email phone
Rick Walterscheid Director of Transportation and Special Projects rick.walterscheid@gccisd.net 281-420-4665
Abel Narvaez Lead Transportation Coordinator Abel.Narvaez@gccisd.net 281-420-4665
Karen Street Secretary karen.street@gccisd.net 281-420-4665
Robin McGowan Safety and Trainer Supervisor rlmcgowan@gccisd.net 281-420-4665
Cheryl Garrett Operations Supervisor cheryl.garrett@gccisd.net 281-420-4665
Teresa Mendoza Routing Specialist I teresa.mendoza@gccisd.net 281-420-4665
Davrice Matheny Routing Specialist II davrice.matheny@gccisd.net 281-420-4665
Kirby Lunsford Assistant Routing Specialist kirby.lunsford@gccisd.net 281-420-4665
Anna Amezcua Lead Dispatcher anna.amezcua@gccisd.net 281-420-4665
Boris Caldwell Student Management Coordinator boris.caldwell@gccisd.net 281-420-4666
Jamie Gonzales Assistant Dispatcher jamie.gonzales@gccisd.net 281-420-4665
John Foreman Shop Foreman john.foreman@gccisd.net 281-420-4666
Theresa Embry Field Trip Coordinator theresa.embry@gccisd.net 281-420-4665
Page 1 of 1

Transportation Helpful Information

Route Parameters and Guidelines

GCCISD provides bus transportation to and from school as a courtesy service for eligible students residing in the district.

 

The State of Texas prescribes the conditions governing school bus operations in Texas Education Code (TEC), Section 42.155(d).

 

 

Eligibility

Transportation is available for all children who live in the district, except for those areas deemed exempt by the Board of Trustees.

 

Some students who attend more than one school to participate in classes not offered at their school are transported between schools during school hours.

 

 

Pick Up Time Criteria

Regular buses attempt to arrive at every bus stop on time.

 

Due to variances between individual clocks and road traffic, students are asked to arrive at their bus stop five (5) minutes prior to the scheduled arrival time.

 

Buses will load students and depart the stop.

 

Regular buses do not wait for late students. Students are expected to proceed immediately to the buses.

 

Bus drivers are instructed not to stop or open the door for late or running students due to safety concerns.

 

 

Daily Service Criteria

Regular buses are scheduled to provide service to student riders.

 

Bus stops may be suspended or omitted for lack of ridership.

 

Infrequent riders should contact the Transportation Department stating their wish to ride when service is needed.

 

Routes are designed and redesigned as the appropriate needs arise.

 

 

Bus Route Criteria and Route Design

Bus routes are created to enhance student safety while maximizing vehicle efficiency.

 

When possible, stops are created that allow students to wait off the main roadway for the bus.

 

Stops are also created to minimize students walking on highly-traveled roadways for long distances without sidewalks.

 

Stops are generally not placed on dead-end streets so as to minimize bus accidents while backing up the bus.

 

Stops are spread as far apart as criteria will allow in order to decrease the number of stops each bus will make on its routes, thus minimizing the overall riding time for the students.

 

In general, elementary students may be required to walk up to a quarter-mile to a bus stop, while secondary students may be required to walk up to half a mile.

 

However, due to conditions beyond the control of the District, these distances may vary.

 

Bus routes are designed to limit student ride time.

 

Students are expected to follow the guidelines in the Student Code of Conduct while riding in any District-owned vehicle.

 

 

Restricted Areas

Goose Creek ISD buses will not enter dead-end streets or personal property except when approved by the Director of Transportation.

 

Generally, use of private property requires concurrence by the property owner.

CONNECT WITH US

Copyright © 2016 - Goose Creek Consolidated Independent School District