Skip Navigation

News from Goose Creek CISD

2017 Pre-AP & AP Summer Reading List
05/05/2017

 

English I Pre-AP

What should I read?

The Book Thief by Markus Zusak


Why should I read?

The New York Times describes The Book Thief as “brilliant” and “life-changing.”  Named the Best Children’s Book of the Year by Publishers Weekly in 2006, it also won the Printz Award in 2007.

Tips for reading

Students should take notes as they read. Begin note-taking with these suggestions:

  • Pay attention to the novel’s structure, with  an emphasis on shifts in perspective, chapter/section dividers, and text features  (i.e. centered text, bolded text, dashes, asterisks  and drawings).
  • Make connections between the novel and  experiences in your own life or other texts  that you have read.
  • Make connections between the novel and what you know about WWII.
  • Ask questions as you read (i.e. Why does the  author choose Death as a narrator?  What is the author saying about life or human nature?)

Help Desk

Should you need assistance, please contact a representative from your campus. 

GCM – Rosie Adolphin – rosetta.adolphin@gccisd.net

REL – Abdulkader Mokhtari – abdulkader.mokhtari@gccisd.net

RSS – Tracie Estrada – tracie.estrada@gccisd.net

IMPACT – Monica O’Brien – monica.obrien@gccisd.net

Stuart Tech High School – Debbie King – debora.king@gccisd.net


NOTE: Incoming 9th grade IMPACT students will receive an additional assignment during the 2017 Summer Bridge for IMPACT Students.

Click here to download  a graphic organizer to assist with notetaking.

Download 2017 Pre-AP & AP Summer Reading brochure 

English II Pre-AP
What should I read?

1984 by George Orwell

Why should I read? 

Ranked among the top 20 must-read books of all time, 1984 is George Orwell’s dystopian work of art.  Coining terms like “Big Brother” and “newspeak,” the novel’s impact on the English language and psyche is undeniable.

Tips for reading

Students should take notes as they read.  Begin note-taking by selecting one character from the novel and following these suggestions:

  • Pay attention to instances in which the  government interferes with your chosen character’s freedom.  This interference may  restrict the character’s right to love, speech education, family, etc.
  • Explore the role of technology and its impact on your chosen character’s privacy, control communication, etc.
  • Consider your chosen character’s struggle for individuality.  

Help Desk

Should you need assistance, please contact a representative from your campus. 

GCM – Shonna Prentice – shonna.prentice@gccisd.net

REL – Kayla Logan – kayla.logan@gccisd.net

RSS – Holly Yarbrough – holly.yarbrough@gccisd.net

IMPACT – Gaye Scribner – gaye.scribner@gccisd.net

Click here to download  a graphic organizer to assist with notetaking.

Download 2017 Pre-AP & AP Summer Reading brochure 

English III AP

 

What should I read?

In Cold Blood by Truman Capote

Why should I read?

The New York Review of Books named In Cold Blood the “best documentary account of an American crime ever written.”  The novel artfully weaves both factual details and what many describe as authorial liberties to create a masterful narrative.

Tips for reading

To demonstrate a critical engagement with this book, which is foundational to the year’s study of nonfiction texts, students should take notes as they read.

Begin note-taking with these suggestions:

  • Capture an understanding of each chapter
  • Clarify definitions of new ideas and concepts  from each chapter
  • React to the ideas and events that Capote  presents in each chapter
  • Develop 3 clarifying questions (something  you still do not understand/want to learn about in class)

Help Desk

Should you need assistance, please contact a representative from your campus.

GCM – Caitlin Levine – caitlin.levine@gccisd.net

REL – Kurt Bouillion – jim.bouillion@gccisd.net

RSS – Karen Rohach – karen.rohach@gccisd.net

Click here to download  a graphic organizer to assist with notetaking.

Download 2017 Pre-AP & AP Summer Reading brochure 

English IV AP

What should I read?

Jane Eyre by Charlotte Brontë

~OR~

Crime and Punishment by Fyodor Dostoevsky

Why should I read?

English IV AP students should select one of the two novels listed above. Jane Eyre and Crime and Punishment are considered masterpieces of storytelling. Winding narratives and flawed characters allow the reader to explore various aspects of the human experience, such as alienation, suffering, and redemption.

Tips for reading

Students should take notes as they read.  

Begin note-taking with these suggestions:

  • Pay attention to the development of main characters and how they evolve. 
  • Consider the book from one of the following perspectives: social class, gender, archetypes.

Reflect on author’s craft and the important ideas explored. 

Consider:

  • How does money affect the characters’ lives?
  • How does gender affect the characters’ lives? 
  • How do events and relationships influence the plot?
  • Which characters remind you of other characters you have met in books or films?

Help Desk

Should you need assistance, please contact a representative from your campus. 

GCM – Jason Catoire – jason.catoire@gccisd.net

REL – Kayla Logan – kayla.logan@gccisd.net

RSS – Angela Buehring – angela.buehring@gccisd.net

IMPACT – Emily Patrick – emily.patrick@gccisd.net

Click here to download  a graphic organizer to assist with notetaking.

 

 


CONNECT WITH US

Copyright © 2016 - Goose Creek Consolidated Independent School District