Skip Navigation

Response to Intervention

Response to Intervention (RtI) is a district and school wide tiered approach to ensure all students receives the academic assistance necessary for success in school. 

 

All the resources within the school setting are united to provide early intervention for struggling students. 

 

RtI meets the goals of No Child Left Behind and the Individuals with Disabilities Educational Act (IDEA) by providing high quality research based instruction. 

 

Universal screenings are used to determine the students who are in need of intervention. 

 

Data is used to make instructional decisions concerning the specific intervention(s) the identified student may need to ensure success. 

 

Universal Screenings are given to every student in the core areas of reading and math. Possible universal screenings: 

  • Kindergarten : Observation Survey and DRA-2
  • First and Second : DRA 2
  • First and Second Bilingual : EDL 2
  • Third Grade-Fifth Grade: STAR
  • Curriculum Based Assessment
  • Success Maker Beginning Assessment 

 

After universal screening is conducted, the class should be evaluated according to performance. According to the research, the students who are in the bottom 20% of the class could possibly need additional instructional time in addition to quality core instruction.

Dyslexia

Mission Statement

The purpose of the Office for Intervention is to ensure the academic success of all students regardless of the disability and to assist teachers and parents in understanding and options for students who struggle in school.

What is Dyslexia?

The current definition from the International Dyslexia Association states:

"Dyslexia is a specific learning disability that is neurological in origin. It is characterized by difficulties with accurate and/or fluent word recognition and by poor spelling and decoding abilities. These difficulties typically result from a deficit in the phonological component of language that is often unexpected in relation to other cognitive abilities and the provision of effective classroom instruction. Secondary consequences may include problems in reading comprehension and reduced reading experience that can impeded growth of vocabulary and background knowledge."

Contact Information

  • Name Email Position Phone
    Karen Coffey karen.coffey@gccisd.net Director of Intervention 281.707.3325
    Isabel Horn isabel.horn@gccisd.net Secretary of Director of Intervention 281.707.3711
    Page 1 of 1
  • Elementary
    Campus Specialist Phone Number Email
    Alamo Elementary Lolly Schlager 281-420-4595 ceschlager@gccisd.net
    Ashbel Smith Elementary Natasha Frost 281-420-4615 natasha.frost@gccisd.net
    Austin Elementary Sherri Thomas 281-420-4620 Sheri.Thomas@gccisd.net
    Banuelos Elementary Shianna Nichols 281-420-1230 shianna.nichols@gccisd.net
    Bowie Elementary Laurie Curry 281-420-4605 lbcurry@gccisd.net
    Carver Elementary Cindy Bigham 281-420-4600 cdbigham@gccisd.net
    Clark Elementary Kelly Lorenz 281-420-7450 kelly.lorenz@gccisd.net
    Crockett Elementary Rosemary Olsen 281-420-4645 rbolsen@gccisd.net
    De Zavala Elementary Linda Leatherwood 281-420-4920 linda.leatherwood@gccisd.net
    Harlem Elementary Pam Schmitt 281-420-4910 paschmitt@gccisd.net
    Highlands Elem. Elementary Robin Edwards 281-420-4900 reedwards@gccisd.net
    Hopper Primary Denise Papillion 281-420-4685 denise.papillion@gccisd.net
    Lamar Elementary Stacy Romeo 281-420-4625 srromeo@gccisd.net
    San Jacinto Elementary Adriana Arce 281-420-4670 Adriana.Arce@gccisd.net
    Travis Elementary Rose Bennett 281-420-4660 rmbennt@gccisd.net
    Victoria Walker Elementary Ann Boring 281-421-1800 aeboring@gccisd.net
    Junior School
    Campus Specialist Phone Number Email
    Baytown Junior Verlene Masters 281-420-4560 vkmasters@gccisd.net
    Cedar Bayou Junior Arin Vara 281-420-4570 arin.vara@gccisd.net
    Gentry Junior Kim Baker 281-420-4590 kabaker@gccisd.net
    Highlands Junior Beverly Joseph 281-420-4695 Beverly.Joseph@gccisd.net
    Horace Mann Junior Anne Marcus 281-420-4585 Annette.Marcus@gccisd.net
    High School
    Campus Specialist Phone Number Email
    Goose Creek Memorial HS Shari May 281-421-4400 shari.may@gccisd.net
    Robert E. Lee HS Rudy Rocha 281-420-4535 redolfo.rocha@gccisd.net
    Ross S. Sterling HS Amber Guadet Marlin 281-420-4500 Amber.Gaudetmarlin@gccisd.net
    Page 1 of 1
CONNECT WITH US

Copyright © 2016 - Goose Creek Consolidated Independent School District